Bitcoin wallets: comparison and test of the best crypto wallets 2021

There are purses for cash and bank accounts for book money. But how are digital currencies such as bitcoins stored? In order to store digital currencies securely, there are crypto wallets Wallet for cryptocurrencies, Basic requirement. With the help of a crypto wallet, coveted digital currencies such as Bitcoin and Co. can be stored, sent and received. Crypto wallets differ depending on the type and provider in terms of user-friendliness and security.

This makes it not easy, especially for newcomers who are interested in owning digital currencies, to decide on the right product and the right provider. Since crypto currencies are still new territory for many people and the multitude of opaque offers, technical terms and opinions seem daunting to many people, we will try the following Review to provide a little insight into the different types of crypto wallets as well as the providers, so that newcomers as well as experienced users get a better overview of the current market.

Anyone who reads this article carefully to the end can different types of wallets how hot wallet, web wallet, desktop wallet, smartphone wallet and hardware wallet differ from each other, knows about the advantages and disadvantages and knows the best providers in each category.

Content

    Definition of terms: Bitcoin Wallet

    Many people use the term "Bitcoin" synonymously with "digital currency". However, this is not correct, as there are many other digital currencies in addition to Bitcoins, such as:

    • Ether,
    • Litecoin or
    • Ripple.

    By definition, BTC wallets are so-called blockchain wallets, which are specially designed for Bitcoins. Nowadays, however, this no longer corresponds to the truth, as good Bitcoin or crypto wallets can record a variety of digital currencies. For example, the wallet of the Crypto exchange eToro more than 120 cryptocurrencies store.

    So there are nowadays only a few pure "Bitcoin Wallets" and one could rather speak of “crypto wallet” in general. This is interesting for all those who want to store other crypto currencies in addition to Bitcoins. Here it is worthwhile to read the provider's specifications carefully to see whether the desired currency is supported. Otherwise, in the worst case, several wallets for different currencies would have to be kept, which not only costs money, but would also be more than just cumbersome.

    What exactly is a Bitcoin wallet?

    Bitcoins do not physically exist, they just exist from a sequence of virtual data, which are stored in a Bitcoin wallet in digital form. Although different types of wallets differ, the basic principle is the same: each wallet contains two different keys:

    1. The public key acts as the recipient address and is always required when you want to transfer bitcoins. The public key is therefore comparable to an account number.
    2. The Private Key is required, on the other hand, to be able to access your own bitcoins as a recipient and can therefore be compared with a password of a bank account.

    When sending bitcoins, a single data structure, the bitcoin transaction, is created by the wallet client and sent to the network. The network's Bitcoin nodes communicate and forward the transaction. If the operation is valid, the nodes will include it in the block they mined. It is of course imperative that the owner does not lose the keys, which ultimately only represent a certain character string, otherwise he no longer have access to the bitcoins Has. The private key should therefore be guarded with the same care as the PIN of a bank account.

    What types and operators of Bitcoin wallets are there?

    There are now a number of different wallets, all with specific advantages and disadvantages.

    Trezor Model One - Cryptocurrency Hardware Wallet - The Most Trusted Cold Storage for Bitcoin, Ethereum, ERC20 and many more (white)
    • LONG-TERM AND SECURE STORAGE - Save your crypto currencies and passwords on a hardware wallet. The private keys never leave the hardware wallet.
    • SECURE - The hardware wallet offers the latest cryptographic algorithms and enables long-term, secure and professional storage of various crypto currencies such as B. Bitcoin, Dash, Litecoin Zcash and Ether (via MyEtherWallet).
    • USB 2.0 - The Trezor Hardware Wallet is a USB device and is therefore compatible with Windows, macOS and Linux.
    • COMPATIBLE WITH MANY CRYPTOCURRENCIES - TREZOR One is compatible with many Crypto Currencies and some other services. Store your wealth safely.
    • DISPLAY - Information about the transactions can be checked and confirmed directly via the display and the two buttons on the device. Thus, your crypto currencies are protected from attacks on your computer.

    Hot wallets

    Hot wallets is not a specific form of wallet per se, but rather a name all Bitcoin wallets that are connected to the internet are. This includes both web wallets, desktop wallets and wallets for smartphones. Hot wallets offer sufficient security and easy handling, especially for people with smaller amounts or beginners. As we will see later, the hot wallets are opposed to the so-called hardware wallets - physical devices on which the keys are stored.

    Web wallets

    Web wallets refers to all forms of wallets to which using an internet browser can be accessed. This is the easiest way for beginners to create a Bitcoin wallet. There are a large number of these online services, some of which are linked to smartphone or desktop wallets and thus open up a range of options for accessing digital currencies.

    • One advantage of web-based wallets is that they accessible from anywhere are independent of which device you use. The handling works without any problems, as virtually any device connected to the Internet can access web wallets.
    • However, they have one major disadvantage: The problem is that web wallets use the store private key online. This attracts hackers and, if leaks are successful, can have serious consequences for users.
    • Furthermore, the provider of a web wallet must be trustworthy, as it is theoretically possible that the provider could use the private key himself and prevent the user from accessing it. It's a dangerous idea, especially when it comes to large amounts.

    Examples of popular web wallets:

    • Coinbase, a wallet and a Bitcoin exchange, operates its wallet worldwide. Users in the US and Europe can purchase bitcoins through the trading exchange.
    • Circle offers users worldwide the opportunity to store, send, receive and purchase bitcoins.
    • Strongcoin offers a Fusion Wallet, which enables users to encrypt the private key before transmission to the server - the encryption is done in the browser. The keys are completely anonymous, which enables the highest possible level of security among the web wallets.

    Choosing the right wallet naturally also depends on your own needs. Anyone who wants to trade with Bitcoins is at Coinbase in good hands, as the provider connects his wallet with an exchange. If you already own coins and don't want to trade, we recommend the Strongcoin Fusion Wallet, as the private key is encrypted by the browser before it reaches the provider's servers. This means that the security restrictions that we initially pointed out can be greatly reduced.

    To the free Coinbase registration

    Desktop wallets

    • With a desktop wallet, the Key managed independently on the PCwhich makes them generally more secure than web wallets.

    Examples of popular desktop wallets:

    • Bitcoin Core: Anyone who has already installed the original Bitcoin client is already using a wallet. In addition to transferring transactions to the network, the software also allows a Bitcoin address to be set up to receive and send the virtual currency and to store the private key for this.
    • Armory: Armory is an open source wallet and is available for free. The desktop wallet was specially created for increased security - Armory enables cold storage, ie the key can be stored without an internet connection in order to rule out hacker attacks. In addition, several accounts can be created, for example to create a business and private account. Unfortunately, the wallet is only available for bitcoins.
    • DarkWallet: DarkWallet uses a slim browser plug-in to offer services like coin mixing, in which users can exchange coins without being tracked by natives.
    • Electrum: Another well-known desktop wallet is Electrum. The user-friendly interface and the rich features make Electrum attractive for both beginners and experienced users. Electrum can be used for Mac, Linux and Windows and is compatible with hardware wallets such as TREZOR, Ledger Nano and KeepKey.

    Although desktop wallets are generally more secure than web wallets, you should still choose the provider with the highest security standards. The cold storage possibilities of Armory make the wallet one of the safest in the desktop category.

    Smartphone wallets

    As the name suggests, smartphone wallets are only available on smartphones.

    • In some cases, the wallets can even use the Near Field Communication Technology (NFC) of the smartphone so that the smartphone only has to be held up to a reader and payments can be made with Bitcoins without having to enter any information.
    Smartphone wallets are no full-fledged clients. A full-fledged client has to download the entire Bitcoin blockchain, which is constantly growing and already amounts to several gigabytes. Many smartphones are not able to save the entire blockchain. These mobile clients are therefore equipped with a Simplified Payment Verification (SPV) - a simplified payment verification. A small sub-section of the blockchain is downloaded and trusted nodes are used to help ensure that the correct information is available.

    The selection of Android and iOS-based wallets is very large. The following is a small overview of the most common smartphone wallets:

    • Breadwalltet: Breadwallet was originally only available for iOS, but is now also available for Android users on the Google Play Store. The application has a number of security functions, such as passcode support and control over private keys, which make the app very user-friendly.
    • Edge: Edge is aimed entirely at newcomers. The automatic backup function, which automatically saves the most important configurations, is particularly advantageous here so that users are always optimally protected.
    • MyCelium: MyCelium is the best known wallet for Android and, in addition to being easy to use, also offers a range of back-up functions for increased security.
    • eToro Wallet: The operator of the social investing platform eToro has recently also released a smartphone wallet, which, like the brokerage platform, is easy to use and was created not only for bitcoins, but for more than 120 crypto currencies.
    • Green Address: GreenAddress is a cross-platform wallet, which can be accessed both for the web browser and via desktop, Android and iOS. GreenAddress supports a number of security functions: For example, money transfers must be confirmed again manually. In addition, the platform is even compatible with some hardware wallets.

    Anyone with a little knowledge of investing knows that eToro's platform Ease of use and security unified like hardly any other provider. The same principles also apply to the wallet. Therefore, we can more than recommend the eToro wallet in the smartphone wallet category.

    For free eToro registration

    * Cryptocurrencies are highly volatile, unregulated investment products. No EU investor protection. Your capital is at risk.

    Hardware Wallets

    Hardware wallets are widespread these days. These are devices that store private keys electronically and make payments easily.

    • Hardware wallets offer the greatest possible security, because they save the private key on the device without storing it on the PC. This means that hackers cannot steal the key and hardware wallets are still secure even if the PC has already been infected.
    • When a Back-up code the saved currencies can be restored even in the event of theft or damage.

    Here are the currently best known and most popular hardware wallets on the market:

    • Safe One: The hardware wallet is aimed at Bitcoin users who want to store a considerable amount of Bitcoins and do not want to be dependent on an intermediary Bitcoin storage service or impractical storage options.
      Trezor Model One - Cryptocurrency Hardware Wallet - The Most Trusted Cold Storage for Bitcoin, Ethereum, ERC20 and many more (white)
      • LONG-TERM AND SECURE STORAGE - Save your crypto currencies and passwords on a hardware wallet. The private keys never leave the hardware wallet.
      • SECURE - The hardware wallet offers the latest cryptographic algorithms and enables long-term, secure and professional storage of various crypto currencies such as B. Bitcoin, Dash, Litecoin Zcash and Ether (via MyEtherWallet).
      • USB 2.0 - The Trezor Hardware Wallet is a USB device and is therefore compatible with Windows, macOS and Linux.
      • COMPATIBLE WITH MANY CRYPTOCURRENCIES - TREZOR One is compatible with many Crypto Currencies and some other services. Store your wealth safely.
      • DISPLAY - Information about the transactions can be checked and confirmed directly via the display and the two buttons on the device. Thus, your crypto currencies are protected from attacks on your computer.
    • KeepKey: Keep Key released its hardware wallet in September 2015, which is in the upper price range. The Keepkey software was originally part of Trezor's Code.
      KeepKey: your private Bitcoin vault
      • Hardware wallet with large OLED display (256 × 64 3.12 ″)
      • Supports Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Namecoin, Dogecoin and DASH
      • Cryptos can be changed directly on the device via Shapeshift
      • Elegant design: front made of polycarbonate with housing made of anodized aluminum
      • Works with PC, Mac, Linux, and Android
    • Ledger Nano S and X: The Ledger Nano S is in the middle price range despite the screen and high quality standards. While the Nano S can be used with an Android smartphone, the more expensive Ledger Nano X can be used for iOS.

    While all hardware wallets offer the highest level of security, we have noticed the biggest difference, especially in the processing quality. What that Ledger In addition to the user-friendliness, what sets it apart from the competition is the processing of high-quality materials, which makes it less prone to damage.

    Conclusion: The eToro wallet covers the needs of most users

    When choosing the right wallet, it depends on the needs of each individual user. Of course are Hardware Wallets the safest. However, the cumbersome use and the acquisition costs only make sense if a considerable amount of Bitcoins or other currencies is already available.

    For users with a smaller amount The eToro Wallet offers the best conditions for Bitcoins or other digital currencies.

    Who is that? eToro Wallet would like to secure, must first register via the eToro platform.

    Step 1: The registration on the trading platform is easy and secure via Facebook or the Google account. To register, you must first enter personal data, including your financial situation.

    Step 2: Those who have successfully registered with eToro can then download the wallet, which is available in the Google Play Store for Android or the Apple Store for iOS.

    Step 3: After the download, the same user data from the main eToro account must be used to use the wallet. After the verification process has been completed, all functions of the wallet are available to users. The available crypto balance is displayed, as well as the trading history.

    For free eToro registration

    * Cryptocurrencies are highly volatile, unregulated investment products. No EU investor protection. Your capital is at risk.

    Finally one more Safety note: No matter which provider is preferred and which type of wallet you choose - only the money should be converted into digital currencies, which really is freely available and which you could do without in an emergency. Bitcoins and other digital currencies are affected by fluctuations and can therefore also fall in value. In addition, nobody can predict the future of digital currencies. This must be clear to everyone who decides on a Bitcoin wallet.

    About David Maul

    David Maul is a qualified business IT specialist with a passion for hardware

Bitcoin Wallets: Vergleich und Test der besten Krypto Wallets 2021

F√ľr Bargeld gibt es Geldb√∂rsen, f√ľr Buchgeld gibt es das Bankkonto. Wie werden aber digitale W√§hrungen, wie zum Beispiel Bitcoins, aufbewahrt? Um die digitalen W√§hrungen sicher zu lagern sind Krypto Wallets, also Geldbeutel f√ľr Kryptow√§hrungen, Grundvoraussetzung. Mithilfe eines Krypto Wallets k√∂nnen die begehrten digitalen W√§hrungen wie Bitcoin und Co. aufbewahrt, versendet und empfangen werden. Krypto Wallets unterscheiden sich je nach Typ und Anbieter in puncto Nutzerfreundlichkeit und Sicherheit.

Dies macht es grade f√ľr Neueinsteiger, die am Besitz an digitalen W√§hrungen interessiert sind, nicht einfach, sich f√ľr das richtige Produkt sowie den richtigen Anbieter zu entscheiden. Da Kryptow√§hrungen f√ľr viele Menschen noch Neuland sind und die Vielzahl von undurchsichtigen Angeboten, Fachbegriffen und Meinungen auf viele Menschen abschreckend wirken, versuchen wir im folgenden Testbericht einen kleinen Einblick in die verschiedenen Arten von Krypto Wallets sowie die Anbieter zu schaffen, sodass Neueinsteiger aber auch bereits erfahrene Nutzer einen besseren √úberblick √ľber den derzeitigen Markt erhalten.

Wer diesen Beitrag aufmerksam zuende liest, kann die verschiedenen Arten von Wallets wie Hot Wallet, Web Wallet, Desktop Wallet, Smartphone Wallet sowie Hardware Wallet voneinander unterscheiden, wei√ü √ľber die Vor- und Nachteile Bescheid und kennt die besten Anbieter in jeder Kategorie.

Inhalt

    Begriffserklärung: Bitcoin Wallet

    Viele Menschen nutzen den Begriff ‚ÄěBitcoin‚Äú synonym mit ‚Äědigitaler W√§hrung‚Äú. Dies ist aber nicht korrekt, da es neben Bitcoins noch eine Vielzahl weiterer digitaler W√§hrungen gibt, wie zum Beispiel:

    • Ether,
    • Litecoin oder
    • Ripple.

    Per Definition sind demnach BTC Wallets sogenannte Blockchain Wallets, die speziell auf Bitcoins ausgerichtet sind. Dies entspricht heutzutage aber nicht mehr der Wahrheit, da gute Bitcoin bzw. Krypto Wallets eine Vielzahl von digitalen Währungen erfassen können. So kann beispielsweise das Wallet der Kryptobörse eToro mehr als 120 Krypto-Währungen aufbewahren.

    Demnach gibt es heutzutage nur noch wenige pure ‚ÄěBitcoin Wallets‚Äú und man k√∂nnte eher von ‚ÄěKrypto Wallet‚Äú im Allgemeinen sprechen. Dies ist f√ľr alle diejenigen interessant, die neben Bitcoins noch andere Krypto-W√§hrungen aufbewahren m√∂chten. Hier lohnt es sich, die Spezifikationen des Anbieters genau durchzulesen um zu sehen, ob die gew√ľnschte W√§hrung unterst√ľtzt wird. Sonst m√ľssten im schlimmsten Falle mehrere Wallets f√ľr verschiedene W√§hrungen gef√ľhrt werden, was nicht nur ins Geld geht, sondern auch mehr als nur umst√§ndlich w√§re.

    Was genau ist ein Bitcoin Wallet?

    Bitcoins existieren nicht physisch, sondern bestehen nur aus einer Sequenz von virtuellen Daten, welche in einem Bitcoin Wallet in digitaler Form aufbewahrt werden. Obwohl verschiedene Arten von Wallets Unterschiede aufweisen, ist das grundlegende Prinzip das gleiche: Jedes Wallet enth√§lt zwei verschiedene Schl√ľssel:

    1. Der √∂ffentliche Schl√ľssel (Public Key) fungiert als die Empf√§ngeradresse und wird immer dann ben√∂tigt, wenn man Bitcoins transferieren m√∂chte. Der Public Key ist somit mit einer Kontonummer vergleichbar.
    2. Der Private Key wird dagegen benötigt, um als Empfänger auf die eigenen Bitcoins zugreifen zu können und kann somit mit einem Passwort eines Bankkontos verglichen werden.

    Wenn man Bitcoins versendet, wird eine einzelne Datenstruktur, die Bitcoin-Transaktion, von dem Wallet-Clienten kreiert und an das Netzwerk gesendet. Die Bitcoin-Nodes des Netzwerkes kommunizieren und senden die Transaktion weiter. Falls die Operation g√ľltig ist, werden die Nodes diese in den von ihnen geminten Block aufnehmen. Es ist nat√ľrlich unabdingbar, dass der Besitzer die Keys, die letztendlich nur eine bestimmte Zeichenfolge darstellen, nicht verliert, da er ansonsten keinen Zugriff mehr auf die Bitcoins hat. Der Private Key sollte demnach mit der gleichen Vorsicht wie die Geheimzahl eines Bankkontos geh√ľtet werden.

    Welche Arten und Betreiber von Bitcoin-Wallets gibt es?

    Mittlerweile gibt es eine ganze Reihe an verschiedenen Wallets, alle mit spezifischen Vor- und Nachteilen.

    Trezor Model One - Cryptocurrency Hardware Wallet - The Most Trusted Cold Storage f√ľr Bitcoin, Ethereum, ERC20 und viele mehr (Wei√ü)
    • LANGFRISTIGE UND SICHERE AUFBEWAHRUNG - Speichern Sie Ihre Crypto Currencies und Passw√∂rter auf einem Hardware Wallet. Die Private Keys verlassen nie das Hardware Wallet.
    • SICHER - Das Hardware Wallet bietet neueste kryptographische Algorithmen und erm√∂glicht eine langfristige, sichere und professionelle Aufbewahrung verschiedenster Crypto Currencies wie z. B. Bitcoin, Dash, Litecoin Zcash und Ether (via MyEtherWallet).
    • USB 2.0 - Das Trezor Hardware Wallet ist ein USB Ger√§t und somit mit Windows, macOS und Linux kompatibel.
    • KOMPATIBEL MIT VIELEN CRYPTOCURRENCIES - TREZOR One ist mit vielen Crypto Currencies und eingigen anderen Diensten kompatibel. Speichern Sie Ihr Verm√∂gen sicher.
    • DISPLAY - √úber das Display und die zwei Tasten am Ger√§t k√∂nnen Informationen √ľber die Transaktionen direkt kontrolliert und best√§tigt werden. Somit sind Ihre Crypto Currencies vor Angriffen auf Ihren Computer gesch√ľtzt.

    Hot Wallets

    Hot Wallets ist keine bestimmte Wallet-Form an sich, sondern bezeichnet alle Bitcoin Wallets, die mit dem Internet verbunden sind. Hierzu z√§hlen sowohl Web Wallets, Desktop Wallets als auch Wallets f√ľr das Smartphone. Gerade f√ľr Menschen mit kleineren Betr√§gen beziehungsweise Einsteigern bieten Hot Wallets ausreichend Sicherheit sowie eine leichte Handhabung. Wie wir sp√§ter sehen werden, stehen den Hot Wallets die sogenannten Hardware Wallets gegen√ľber ‚Äď physische Ger√§te, auf denen die Keys gespeichert werden.

    Web Wallets

    Web Wallets bezeichnet alle Formen von Wallets, auf die mithilfe eines Internet-Browsers zugegriffen werden kann. Dies stellt f√ľr Anf√§nger den leichtesten Weg dar, ein Bitcoin Wallet zu erstellen. Es gibt eine Vielzahl dieser Online-Dienstleistungen, einige hiervon sind an Smartphone oder Desktop Wallets gekoppelt und er√∂ffnen somit eine Reihe von M√∂glichkeiten, auf die digitalen W√§hrungen zuzugreifen.

    • Ein Vorteil von web-basierten Wallets ist es, dass sie von √ľberall aus erreichbar sind, unabh√§ngig welches Ger√§t man benutzt. Die Handhabung funktioniert problemlos, da f√∂rmlich jedes mit dem Internet verbundene Ger√§t auf Web Wallets zugreifen kann.
    • Sie haben jedoch einen entscheidenden Nachteil: Problematisch ist es, dass Web Wallets den privaten Schl√ľssel online speichern. Dies lockt Hacker an und kann bei erfolgreichen Leaks schwere Folgen f√ľr die Nutzer haben.
    • Des Weiteren muss der Anbieter eines Web Wallets vertrauensw√ľrdig sein, da es theoretisch m√∂glich ist, dass der Anbieter den privaten Schl√ľssel selbst verwenden und den Nutzer vom Zugriff ausschlie√üen k√∂nnte. Das ist eine gef√§hrliche Vorstellung, vor allem dann, wenn es um hohe Betr√§ge geht.

    Beispiele f√ľr beliebte Web-Wallets:

    • Coinbase, ein Wallet sowie eine Bitcoin-B√∂rse, betreibt sein Wallet weltweit. Nutzer in den USA und in Europa k√∂nnen Bitcoins durch die Handelsb√∂rse erwerben.
    • Circle bietet Nutzern weltweit die M√∂glichkeit, Bitcoins aufzubewahren, zu versenden, zu erhalten und zu erwerben.
    • Strongcoin bietet ein Fusion-Wallet an, welches es den Nutzern erm√∂glicht, die privaten Schl√ľssel vor der √úbertragung an die Server zu verschl√ľsseln ‚Äď die Verschl√ľsselung wird im Browser get√§tigt. So sind die Schl√ľssel v√∂llig anonym, was eine h√∂chstm√∂gliche Sicherheit unter den Web Wallets erm√∂glicht.

    Bei der Wahl des richtigen Wallets kommt es nat√ľrlich auch auf die eigenen Bed√ľrfnisse an. Wer mit Bitcoins Handel betreiben m√∂chte, ist bei Coinbase gut aufgehoben, da der Anbieter sein Wallet mit einer B√∂rse verbindet. Wer bereits Coins besitzt un nicht handeln m√∂chte, dem empfehlen wir das Fusion-Wallet von Strongcoin, da hier der Private Key durch den Browser verschl√ľsselt wird, bevor er die Server der Anbieter erreicht. Das bedeutet, dass die Sicherheitseinschr√§nkungen, auf die wir anf√§nglich hingewiesen haben, stark verringert werden k√∂nnen.

    Zur kostenlosen Coinbase Anmeldung

    Desktop Wallets

    • Bei einem Desktop Wallet wird der Schl√ľssel eigenst√§ndig auf dem PC verwaltet, was sie generell sicherer als Web Wallets macht.

    Beispiele f√ľr beliebte Desktop Wallets:

    • Bitcoin Core: Wer bereits den originalen Bitcoin-Clienten installiert hat, der benutzt bereits ein Wallet. Neben der √úbertragung von Transaktionen zum Netzwerk erlaubt die Software zudem, eine Bitcoin-Adresse zum Erhalt und Versand der virtuellen W√§hrung einzurichten und den privaten Schl√ľssel hierf√ľr aufzubewahren.
    • Armory: Armory ist ein Open-Source Wallet und kostenlos erh√§ltlich. Das Desktop Wallet wurde speziell f√ľr eine erh√∂hte Sicherheit erstellt ‚Äď so erm√∂glicht Armory Cold Storage, d.h. der Key kann ohne Internetverbindung aufbewahrt werden, um Hackerangriffe auszuschlie√üen. Zudem k√∂nnen mehrere Accounts erstellt werden, um beispielsweise ein Gesch√§fts- sowie Privatkonto zu erstellen. Leider ist das Wallet nur f√ľr Bitcoins erh√§ltlich.
    • DarkWallet: DarkWallet nutzt ein schlankes Browser-Plugin, um Services wie Coin-Mixing anzubieten, in denen die Nutzer Coins austauschen k√∂nnen, ohne von Natives verfolgt zu werden.
    • Electrum: Ein weiteres bekanntes Desktop Wallet ist Electrum. Das nutzerfreundliche Interface und die reichhaltigen Features machen Electrum sowohl f√ľr Anf√§nger als auch f√ľr erfahrene Nutzer attraktiv. Electrum kann f√ľr Mac, Linux und Windows benutzt werden und ist kompatibel mit Hardware-Wallets wie TREZOR, Ledger Nano und KeepKey.

    Obwohl Desktop Wallets im Allgemeinen sicherer als Web Wallets sind, sollte man dennoch auch hier den Anbieter mit den höchsten Sicherheitsstandards wählen. Die Cold Storage Möglichkeiten von Armory machen das Wallet zu einem der sichersten in der Desktop-Kategorie.

    Smartphone Wallets

    Wie der Name bereits erahnen l√§sst, sind Smartphone Wallets nur auf dem Smartphone verf√ľgbar.

    • In einigen F√§llen k√∂nnen die Wallets sogar die Near-Field-Communication-Technologie (NFC) des Smartphones nutzen, sodass das Smartphone nur noch an ein Leseger√§t gehalten werden muss und mit Bitcoins gezahlt werden kann, ohne dass irgendwelche Informationen eingeben zu m√ľssen.
    Smartphone Wallets sind keine vollwertigen Clienten. Ein vollwertiger Client muss die gesamte Bitcoin-Blockchain herunterladen, die konstant anw√§chst und bereits mehrere Gigabytes ausmacht. Viele Smartphones sind nicht in der Lage, die gesamte Blockchain abzuspeichern. Diese mobilen Clienten sind daher mit einer Simplified Payment Verification (SPV) ‚Äď einer vereinfachten Zahlungs√ľberpr√ľfung ‚Äď ausgestattet. Hierbei wird ein kleiner Unterteil der Blockchain heruntergeladen und vertrauensw√ľrdige Nodes werden zur Hilfe genommen, um sicherzustellen, dass die korrekten Informationen vorliegen.

    Die Auswahl von Android sowie iOS basierenden Wallets ist sehr gro√ü. Im Folgenden eine kleine √úbersicht √ľber die g√§ngigsten Smartphone-Wallets:

    • Breadwalltet: Breadwallet war urspr√ľnglich nur f√ľr iOS erh√§ltlich, aber ist heutzutage ebenfalls f√ľr Android Nutzer auf dem Google Play Store erh√§ltlich. Die Applikation hat eine Reihe von Sicherheitsfunktionen, wie zum Beispiel Passcode-Unterst√ľtzung und Kontrolle √ľber die privaten Schl√ľssel, die die App sehr nutzerfreundlich gestalten.
    • Edge: Edge richtet sich ganz an Neueinsteiger. Vorteilhaft ist hier vor allem die automatische Back-up-Funktion, die die wichtigsten Konfigurationen automatisch sichert, sodass die Nutzer immer bestens gesch√ľtzt sind.
    • MyCelium: MyCelium ist das bekannteste Wallet f√ľr Android und bietet neben einer einfachen Handhabung zudem eine Reihe an Back-Up-Funktionen f√ľr erh√∂hte Sicherheit an.
    • eToro Wallet: Der Betreiber der Social-Investing-Plattform eToro hat seit kurzem ebenfalls ein Smartphone Wallet ver√∂ffentlicht, das √§hnlich wie die Brokerage Plattform leicht zu bedienen ist und nicht nur f√ľr Bitcoins, sondern f√ľr mehr also 120 Krypto-W√§hrungen erstellt wurde.
    • Green Address: GreenAddress ist ein Cross-Plattform-Wallet, was sowohl f√ľr den Webbrowser, als auch √ľber Desktop, Android sowie iOS erreicht werden kann. GreenAddress unterst√ľtzt eine Reihe von Sicherheitsfunktionen: So m√ľssen zum Beispiel Geld√ľbertragungen noch einmal manuell best√§tigt werden. Zudem ist die Plattform sogar mit einigen Hardware-Wallets kompatibel.

    Jeder, der sich ein wenig mit Investitionen auskennt, weiß dass die Plattform von eToro Nutzerfreundlichkeit und Sicherheit wie kaum ein anderer Anbieter vereint. Dieselben Prinzipien treffen auch auf das Wallet zu. Daher können wir in der Kategorie Smartphone Wallet das eToro Wallet mehr als nur empfehlen.

    Zur kostenlosen eToro Anmeldung

    *Kryptowährungen sind hochvolatile unregulierte Anlageprodukte. Kein EU-Anlegerschutz. Ihr Kapital ist im Risiko.

    Hardware Wallets

    Hardware-Wallets sind heutzutage weit verbreitet. Es handelt sich um Ger√§te, die private Schl√ľssel elektronisch abspeichern und Zahlungen einfach durchf√ľhren.

    • Hardware-Wallets bieten die gr√∂√ütm√∂gliche Sicherheit, da sie den privaten Schl√ľssel auf dem Ger√§t abspeichern, ohne ihn auf dem PC zwischenzulagern. Somit k√∂nnen Hacker den Schl√ľssel nicht entwenden und Hardware-Wallets sind selbst dann noch sicher, wenn der PC bereits infiziert wurde.
    • Wenn ein Back-Up-Code erstellt wurde, k√∂nnen die gespeicherten W√§hrungen selbst bei Diebstahl oder im Schadensfalls wiederhergestellt werden.

    Hier sind die aktuell bekanntesten und beliebtesten Hardware Wallets auf dem Markt:

    • Trezor One: Das Hardware-Wallet richtet sich an Bitcoin-Nutzer, die eine betr√§chtliche Menge an Bitcoins aufbewahren m√∂chten und hierzu nicht von einem dazwischengeschalteten Bitcoin-Aufbewahrungsservice oder unpraktischen Aufbewahrungsm√∂glichkeiten abh√§ngig sein m√∂chten.
      Trezor Model One - Cryptocurrency Hardware Wallet - The Most Trusted Cold Storage f√ľr Bitcoin, Ethereum, ERC20 und viele mehr (Wei√ü)
      • LANGFRISTIGE UND SICHERE AUFBEWAHRUNG - Speichern Sie Ihre Crypto Currencies und Passw√∂rter auf einem Hardware Wallet. Die Private Keys verlassen nie das Hardware Wallet.
      • SICHER - Das Hardware Wallet bietet neueste kryptographische Algorithmen und erm√∂glicht eine langfristige, sichere und professionelle Aufbewahrung verschiedenster Crypto Currencies wie z. B. Bitcoin, Dash, Litecoin Zcash und Ether (via MyEtherWallet).
      • USB 2.0 - Das Trezor Hardware Wallet ist ein USB Ger√§t und somit mit Windows, macOS und Linux kompatibel.
      • KOMPATIBEL MIT VIELEN CRYPTOCURRENCIES - TREZOR One ist mit vielen Crypto Currencies und eingigen anderen Diensten kompatibel. Speichern Sie Ihr Verm√∂gen sicher.
      • DISPLAY - √úber das Display und die zwei Tasten am Ger√§t k√∂nnen Informationen √ľber die Transaktionen direkt kontrolliert und best√§tigt werden. Somit sind Ihre Crypto Currencies vor Angriffen auf Ihren Computer gesch√ľtzt.
    • KeepKey: Keep Key hat sein Hardware-Wallet im September 2015 ver√∂ffentlicht, welches sich in der oberen Preisklasse ansiedelt. Die Keepkey-Software war urspr√ľnglich Teil von Trezors Code.
      KeepKey: Ihr privater Bitcoin-Tresorraum
      • Hardware Wallet mit gro√üem OLED-Display (256√ó64 3.12‚Ä≥)
      • Unterst√ľtzt Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Namecoin, Dogecoin und DASH
      • Cryptos k√∂nnen √ľber Shapeshift direkt auf dem Ger√§t gewechselt werden
      • Edles Design: Vorderseite aus Polycarbonat mit Geh√§use aus eloxiertem Aluminium
      • Funktioniert mit PC, Mac, Linux, und Android
    • Ledger Nano S und X: Das Ledger Nano S siedelt sich trotz Bildschirm und hohen Qualit√§tsstandards in der mittleren Preisklasse an. W√§hrend das Nano S mit einem Android Smartphone genutzt werden kann, kann das teurere Ledger Nano X f√ľr iOS verwendet werden.

    W√§hrend alle Hardware Wallets h√∂chste Sicherheit bieten, haben wir den gr√∂√üten Unterschied vor allem in der Verarbeitungsqualit√§t feststellen k√∂nnen. Was das Ledger neben der Nutzerfreundlichkeit von der Konkurrenz abhebt, ist die Verarbeitung von hochwertigen Materialien, die es weniger anf√§llig f√ľr Sch√§den macht.

    Fazit: Das eToro Wallet deckt die Bed√ľrfnisse der meisten Nutzer ab

    Bei der Wahl des richtigen Wallets kommt es auf die Bed√ľrfnisse jedes einzelnen Nutzers an. Nat√ľrlich sind Hardware Wallets am sichersten. Jedoch machen die umst√§ndliche Nutzung und die Anschaffungskosten nur dann Sinn, wenn bereits eine betr√§chtliche Menge an Bitcoins oder anderen W√§hrungen vorhanden ist.

    F√ľr Nutzer mit einer geringeren Menge an Bitcoins oder anderen digitalen W√§hrungen bietet das eToro Wallet die besten Konditionen.

    Wer sich das eToro Wallet sichern m√∂chte, muss sich zuerst √ľber die eToro Plattform registrieren.

    Schritt 1: Die Anmeldung auf der Trading-Plattform erfolgt einfach und sicher via Facebook oder dem Google-Konto. Zur Anmeldung m√ľssen zuerst pers√∂nliche Daten, inklusive der finanziellen Situation, eingegeben werden.

    Schritt 2: Wer sich erfolgreich bei eToro registriert hat, der kann anschlie√üend das Wallet herunterladen, was im Google Play Store f√ľr Android oder dem Apple Store f√ľr iOS erh√§ltlich ist.

    Schritt 3: Nach dem Download m√ľssen dieselben Nutzerdaten des Hauptkontos von eToro verwendet werden, um das Wallet nutzen zu k√∂nnen. Nachdem der Verifikationsprozess abgeschlossen wurde, stehen den Nutzern alle Funktionen des Wallets offen. Das verf√ľgbare Krypto-Guthaben wird angezeigt, sowie die Trading-Historie.

    Zur kostenlosen eToro Anmeldung

    *Kryptowährungen sind hochvolatile unregulierte Anlageprodukte. Kein EU-Anlegerschutz. Ihr Kapital ist im Risiko.

    Zum Schluss noch ein Sicherheitshinweis: Egal, welcher Anbieter bevorzugt wird und f√ľr welche Art von Wallet man sich entscheidet ‚Äď es sollte nur das Geld in digitale W√§hrungen umgewandelt werden, was wirklich zur freien Verf√ľgung steht und auf das man im Notfall auch verzichten k√∂nnte. Bitcoins und andere digitale W√§hrungen sind n√§mlich von Schwankungen betroffen und k√∂nnen demnach auch im Wert fallen. Zudem kann niemand die Zukunft der digitalen W√§hrungen voraussagen. Dies muss jedem klar sein, der sich f√ľr ein Bitcoin Wallet entscheidet.

    √úber David Maul

    David Maul ist studierter Wirtschaftsinformatiker mit einer Leidenschaft f√ľr Hardware