The best Firefox VPN extensions in comparison

Find the best Firefox VPN extensions! We compare the best VPN (Virutal Private Network) Providers that offer browser extensions for Firefox on their security and functions. A VPN protects your privacy and anonymity on the internet. In the following article we answer the most important questions about Firefox VPN add-ons: Is a plug-in enough for Firefox, do I need the computer client, which VPN provider is really the best, or is a free VPN enough?

Content

    No time? - The best Firefox VPN extensions

    nordvpn imageNordVPN

    The all-rounder. Fast, secure and trustworthy.

     

    CyberGhost

    Free Firefox VPN extension

     

    SurfShark

    User-friendly and with no device limit

     

     

    Firefox VPN add-on or VPN application

    We have already written a detailed report on the advantages and disadvantages of browser extensions compared to a full-fledged PC client, just take a look here. to. The same goes for Firefox. There is a big difference between installing VPN software on your PC and just using a browser extension. In short: If you want complete security for your entire computer, including all applications, you need a full-fledged VPN client. If you just want to make sure that your IP address is encrypted when surfing with Firefox, a VPN extension is sufficient.

    Set up Firefox VPN

    Don't worry, this sounds more complicated than it is. Most VPN extensions can be installed within a few minutes without any problems. We will also help you with a step by step guide. One of the biggest advantages compared to VPN clients is actually that a browser add-on is usually much less complicated and easier to install.

    Setting up a VPN extension for Firefox - step by step instructions

    Firefox makes it very easy to install browser add-ons. With a handful of clicks and in a few minutes, you'll be ready to surf the Internet safely! We'll explain the whole thing to you with the help of ours Test winner NordVPN.

    Find the VPN add-on

    Find NordVPN firefox

    The first thing you need to do is find the Firefox VPN extension in your browser. Just go to https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/ and search for the VPN extension you want. In our example: NordVPN

    Install the VPN extension

    As soon as you have found NordVPN under the browser add-ons, simply click “Add to Firefox” and then confirm the installation by clicking “Add” again.
    NordVPN Firefox AddAdd NordVPN Firefox _ 2

    Log into your VPN

    NordVPN Firefox login

    After you have logged in with your login data, all you have to do is click on "Quick Connect" and you are already done. Now you are safe and anonymous on the internet. As you can see, adding a VPN extension to Firefox is very easy. Now we just need to clarify which VPN providers are trustworthy and offer the best browser add-ons for Firefox.

    Which Firefox VPN Extension is the Best?

    We already revealed a little earlier in the text that NordVPN is our test winner. Now it's just important to explain why NordVPN wins our test and what alternatives are available. In the following comparison, we pay particular attention to how well the respective VPN providers have optimized their Firefox extensions and how secure they are.

    1st place - NordVPN Firefox browser extension

    NordVPN wins our comparison for two main reasons. The browser extension is easy to install and significantly more performance-optimized than the applications from other providers. That means it won't slow your computer down while the application is running. In addition, the NordVPN Firefox extension comes with great features such as an integrated ad blocker. As soon as you log into your NordVPN account, the browser extension automatically connects to the best available server. Important: If you use the Firefox extension, it really only protects your surfing with Firefox, but not other applications. So a Firefox VPN extension is more like a proxy than a VPN. We therefore recommend all-round protection and installation of the PC client.

    Further advantages of the NordVPN browser extension.

    • Over 60 locations to choose from
    • Very high security standards
    • Stream Netflix, Hulu, HBO, Amazon Prime and many more
    • Unlimited bandwidth
    • Very high speeds

    You need an active NordVPN account to use the browser application.

    Conclusion: test winner. The NordVPN browser extension for Firefox is easy to install, does not slow down your PC and protects you perfectly.

    Prices: There are 4 pricing models, you can choose for 1 month, 1 year, 2 years or 3 years. NordVPN offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. The following prices apply:

    • 1 month for € 10,63
    • 1 year for € 6,22 / month
    • 2 years for € 4,44 / month
    • 3 years for € 3,10 / month.

    2nd place: CyberGhost Firefox VPN browser extension

    CyberGhost VPN logoCyberGhost ranks 2nd. Unfortunately, the CyberGhost Firefox VPN browser extension doesn't offer the same convenience as NordVPN, but it is 100% free.

    The CyberGhost application can run without an account and independently of the client application. The security standards of the free CyberGhost browser extension do not differ from the paid client. Unfortunately, CyberGhost strongly restricts the server selection of its browser extension compared to the client application. Only access to servers in the Netherlands, Germany, Romania and the USA is available.

    Even if you use the paid CyberGhost service, the Firefox browser extension is still limited to the same countries.

    However, streaming Netflix, Hulu and Amazon Prime Video using the browser extension works fine.

    Customer service is only available in English, but via the ticketing system or live chat.

    Conclusion: CyberGhost took second place in our test with its free Firefox VPN browser extension.

    SurfShark Firefox VPN browser extension

    SurfShark also provides a very good Firefox VPN browser extension for Firefox. The VPN runs in the background without disrupting surfing behavior and is user friendly and easy to install. Compared to the client application, the speeds are somewhat reduced, but to an acceptable extent. Unfortunately the browser extension is limited to 14 countries.

    What we also like about SurfShark:

    • Good security standards
    • Unlimited bandwidth
    • Good to very good speeds
    • Unlimited number of connections

    You need an active SurfShark account to use the browser application. 

    Conclusion: SurfShark is a solid Firefox VPN extension. However, speeds and server selection are better with other providers.

    Summary

    If you want to surf safely in Firefox, you should use a Firefox VPN browser extension. Premium providers like NordVPN and SurfShark do a very good job and provide sophisticated, simple and user-friendly applications. We generally advise against most free providers as they are often not very secure. Furthermore, you should avoid any providers that do not require a login, as this can be exploited by hackers.

    In summary, if your security is really important to you, you cannot avoid using a full-fledged VPN client. Our tip: NordVPNto use our test winner as a full client.

    Frequently asked questions about using VPN browser extensions

    Is a Firefox VPN browser extension enough?

    A Firefox VPN browser extension for Firefox offers a kind of Lite VPN. This has similar functions as a desktop client, but not to the same extent.

    Are the Firefox VPN browser extensions safe?

    Unfortunately, many Firefox VPN browser extensions are unsafe. Many free providers in particular finance their servers in a very questionable way. In the worst case, your private data will be resold if you use an untrustworthy browser extension.

    What are the best browser extensions for Firefox

    NordVPN, CyberGhost and SurfShark win our comparison of the best browser extensions for Firefox. Other trusted providers of VPNs are ExpressVPN and IPvanish.

    Is a VPN legal?

    Yes. VPN use is basically legal in most countries such as Germany. Only a handful of countries prohibit the use of a VPN. Including North Korea, China, Iraq and Iran.

    Is private mode enough in Firefox?

    No. The private mode in Firefox only deletes your browsing history and cookies, but does not protect your IP address like a VPN does.

    Has Firefox integrated a VPN?

    The Firefox desktop version has no integrated VPN. However, Firefox's Android and iOS apps both have a VPN.

    Can my VPN browser extensions be deactivated?

    Yes. It is very easy to turn the VPN browser extensions for Firefox on and off.

     

     

    About Kevin Benckendorf

    Kevin Benckendorf grew up in Germany, but at home all over the world. His passion is the latest technology. Whether hardware or software. He is always up to date and tests the best new releases for you.

Die besten VPN Erweiterungen für Firefox im Vergleich

Finde die besten VPN Erweiterungen für Firefox! Wir vergleichen die besten VPN (Virutal Private Network) Anbieter die Browser Erweiterungen für Firefox anbieten auf ihre Sicherheit und Funktionen. Ein VPN schützt deine Privatsphäre und Anonymität im Internet. In dem folgenden Artikel beantworten wir die wichtigsten Fragen rund um VPN Add-on für Firefox: Reicht ein Plug-in für Firefox aus, brauche ich den Computer-Client, welcher VPN-Anbieter ist wirklich der beste oder reicht vielleicht sogar ein gratis VPN?

Inhalt

    Keine Zeit? – Die besten VPN Erweiterungen für Firefox

    nordvpn imageNordVPN

    Der Alleskönner. Schnell, sicher und vertrauenswürdig.

     

    CyberGhost

    Gratis VPN Erweiterung für Firefox

     

    SurfShark

    Benutzerfreundlich und ohne Gerätelimit

     

     

    Firefox VPN Add-on oder VPN Anwendung

    Wir haben bereits einen ausführlichen Bericht über die Vor – und Nachteile von Browser Erweiterungen im Vergleich zu einem vollwertigen PC-Client geschrieben, schau einfach einmal hier nach. Für Firefox gilt genau das Gleiche. Es ist ein großer Unterschied eine VPN Software auf dem PC zu installieren oder nur eine Browser Erweiterung zu nutzen. Kurz gesagt: Möchtest du komplette Sicherheit für deinen kompletten Computer, inklusive aller Anwendungen brauchst du einen vollwertigen VPN-Client. Möchtest du nur sichergehen, dass beim Surfen mit Firefox deine IP-Adresse verschlüsselt ist, reicht eine VPN-Erweiterung.

    VPN Erweiterung für Firefox einrichten

    Keine Sorge, das klingt komplizierter, als es ist. Die meisten VPN Erweiterungen kannst du ohne Probleme innerhalb von wenigen Minuten installieren. Außerdem helfen wir dir mit einem Schritt für Schritt Guide. Einer der größten Vorteile gegenüber VPN-Clients ist tatsächlich, dass ein Browser addon meist deutlich unkomplizierter und einfacher zu installieren ist.

    VPN Erweiterung für Firefox einrichten – Schritt für Schritt Anleitung

    Firefox macht es sehr einfach, Browser Add-ons zu installieren. Mit einer Handvoll Klicks und in einigen Minuten bist du bereit, sicher im Internet zu surfen! Wir erklären dir das Ganze mithilfe von unseren Testsieger NordVPN.

    Suche das VPN Add-on

    NordVPN firefox suchen

    Als Erstes musst du die VPN Erweiterung im Firefox-Browser suchen. Gehe dafür einfach zu https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/ und suche nach der, von dir gewünschten VPN Erweiterung. In unserem Beispiel: NordVPN

    Installiere die VPN Erweiterung

    Sobald du unter den Browser Add-ons NordVPN gefunden hast, klicke einfach “Zu Firefox hinzufügen” und bestätigt danach die Installation, indem du noch einmal “Hinzufügen” klickst.
    NordVPN Firefox HinzufügenNordVPN Firefox hinzufügen _ 2

    Logg dich in deinen VPN ein

    NordVPN Firefox login

    Nachdem du dich mit deinen Anmeldedaten eingeloggt hast, musst du nur noch auf “Quick Connect” klicken, und du bist bereits fertig. Jetzt bist du sicher und anoym im Internet. Wie du siehst ist es kinderleicht eine VPN-Erweiterung zu Firefox hinzuzufügen. Jetzt müssen wir nur noch aufklären, welche VPN-Anbieter vertrauenswürdig sind und die besten Browser Add-ons für Firefox anbieten.

    Welche VPN Erweiterung ist die beste für Firefox

    Wir haben ja schon etwas weiter oben im Text verraten, dass NordVPN unser Testsieger ist. Jetzt ist es nur noch wichtig zu erklären, warum NordVPN unseren Test gewinnt und welche Alternativen es gibt. Im folgenden Vergleich beachten wir dabei besonders, wie gut die jeweiligen VPN-Anbieter ihre Firefox Erweiterungen optimiert haben und wie sicher diese sind.

    Platz 1 – NordVPN Firefox Browser Erweiterung

    NordVPN gewinnt unseren Vergleich besonders aus zwei Gründen. Die Browser Erweiterung ist einfach zu installieren und deutlich leistungsoptimierter als die Anwendungen der anderen Anbieter. Das bedeutet sie verlangsamt deinen Computer nicht, während die Anwendung läuft. Darüber hinaus kommt die NordVPN Firefox Erweiterung mit tollen Features wie einem integrierten Adblocker. Sobald du in deinem NordVPN Konto einloggst, verbindet sich die Browser Erweiterung automatisch mit dem besten verfügbaren Server. Wichtig: Nutzt du die Firefox Erweiterung schützt diese wirklich nur dein Surfen mit Firefox, nicht aber andere Anwendungen. Eine Firefox VPN Erweiterung ist also einem Proxy ähnlicher als einem VPN. Deshalb raten wir zu einem rundum Schutz und der Installation des PC – Client.

    Weitere Vorteile der NordVPN Browser Erweiterung.

    • Über 60 Standorte zur Auswahl
    • Sehr hohe Sicherheitsstandards
    • Streamen von Netflix, Hulu, HBO, Amazon Prime und vielen mehr
    • Unbegrenzte Bandbreite
    • Sehr hohe Geschwindigkeiten

    Du brauchst ein aktives NordVPN Konto, um die Browser Anwendung zu nutzen.

    Fazit: Testsieger. Die NordVPN Browser Erweiterung für Firefox ist einfach zu installieren, verlangsamt deinen PC nicht und schützt dich einwandfrei.

    Preise: Es gibt 4 Preismodelle, es kann für 1 Monat, 1 Jahr, 2 Jahre oder 3 Jahre gewählt werden. NordVPN bietet eine 30 Tage Geld-zurück-Garantie. Folgende Preise gelten:

    • 1 Monat für € 10,63
    • 1 Jahr für € 6,22/Monat
    • 2 Jahre für € 4,44/Monat
    • 3 Jahre für´€ 3,10/Monat.

    Platz 2: CyberGhost Firefox Browser Erweiterung

    CyberGhost VPN LogoCyberGhost landet auf Platz 2. Leider bietet die CyberGhost Browser Erweiterung nicht die gleichen Annehmlichkeiten, wie NordVPN es tut, dafür ist sie 100% kostenfrei.

    Die CyberGhost Anwendung kann dabei ohne Konto und unabhängig von der Client Anwendung laufen. Wobei sich die Sicherheitsstandards der gratis CyberGhost Browser Erweiterung nicht von dem kostenpflichtigen Client unterscheiden. Leider schränkt CyberGhost die Serverauswahl seiner Browser Erweiterung stark gegenüber der Client Anwendung ein. Lediglich Zugriff auf Server in den Niederlanden, Deutschland, Rumänien und den USA stehen zur Verfügung.

    Auch falls du den kostenpflichtigen CyberGhost Service nutzt, beschränkt sich die Firefox Browser Erweiterung  weiterhin auf dieselben Länder.

    Allerdings funktioniert das Streamen von Netflix, Hulu und Amazon Prime Video mithilfe der Browser Erweiterung einwandfrei.

    Der Kundenservice ist nur in Englisch verfügbar, dafür per Ticketing-System oder Live-Chat.

    Fazit: CyberGhost erobert mit seiner kostenlosen Browser – Erweiterung den zweiten Platz in unserem Test.

    SurfShark Firefox Browser Erweiterung

    Auch SurfShark liefert eine sehr gute VPN Browser Erweiterung für Firefox. Das VPN läuft im Hintergrund, ohne das Surfverhalten stark zu stören und ist benutzerfreundlich und leicht zu installieren. Im Vergleich zu der Client Anwendung sind die Geschwindigkeiten etwas gedrosselt, allerdings in einem akzeptablen Ausmaß. Leider ist die Browser Erweiterung auf 14 Länder beschränkt.

    Was uns außerdem an SurfShark gefällt:

    • Gute Sicherheitsstandards
    • Unbegrenzte Bandbreite
    • Gute bis Sehr gute Geschwindigkeiten
    • Unlimitierte Anzahl von Verbindungen

    Du brauchst ein aktives SurfShark Konto, um die Browser Anwendung zu nutzen. 

    Fazit: SurfShark ist eine solide VPN Erweiterung für Firefox. Geschwindigkeiten und Serverauswahl sind allerdings bei anderen Anbietern besser.

    Zusammenfassung

    Wer in Firefox sicher surfen möchte, sollte eine VPN Browser Erweiterung nutzen. Premium-Anbieter wie NordVPN und SurfShark leisten sehr gute Arbeit und stellen ausgereifte und einfache und benutzerfreundliche Anwendungen zur Verfügung. Wir raten generell von den meisten gratis Anbietern ab, da diese oft nicht sehr sicher sind. Des weiteren solltet ihr jegliche Anbieter, die kein Log-in benötigen vermeiden, da dies von Hackern ausgenutzt werden kann.

    Zusammenfassend kann gesagt werden das, wenn einem seine Sicherheit wirklich wichtig ist, man nicht um die Benutzung eines vollwertigen VPN Client herum kommt. Unser Tipp: NordVPN, unser Testsieger als vollständigen Client zu verwenden.

    Häufige Fragen zur Nutzung von VPN Browser Erweiterungen

    Reicht eine Firefox VPN Browser-Erweiterung aus?

    Eine Browser-Erweiterung für Firefox bietet eine Art Lite VPN. Dieser hat ähnliche Funktionen wie ein Desktop-Client, jedoch nicht in dem gleichen Umfang.

    Sind die VPN Browser Erweiterungen für Firefox sicher?

    Viele VPN Browser Erweiterungen sind leider unsicher. Besonders viele gratis Anbieter finanzieren ihre Server auf sehr fragwürdige Art und Weise. Im schlimmsten Fall werden eure privaten Daten beim Nutzen einer nicht vertrauenswürdigen Browser Erweiterung weiterverkauft.

    Was sind die besten Browser Erweiterungen für Firefox

    NordVPN, CyberGhost und SurfShark gewinnen unseren Vergleich der besten Browser Erweiterungen für Firefox. Andere vertrauenswürdige Anbieter von VPNs sind ExpressVPN und IPvanish.

    Ist ein VPN legal?

    Ja. VPN-Nutzung ist grundsätzlich in den meisten Ländern wie Deutschland legal. Lediglich eine Handvoll Länder verbietet die Nutzung eines VPN. Darunter Nordkorea, China, Irak und der Iran.

    Reicht der Private Modus in Firefox aus?

    Nein. Der private Modus in Firefox löscht lediglich dein Browserverlauf sowie Cookies, er schützt aber nicht deine IP-Adresse, wie es ein VPN tut.

    Hat Firefox einen VPN integriert?

    Die Firefox Desktop Version hat kein VPN integriert. Allerdings besitzen die Android und iOS App von Firefox beide einen VPN.

    Kann mein eine VPN Browser Erweiterungen deaktivieren?

    Ja. Es ist sehr einfach die VPN Browser Erweiterungen für Firefox an und auszuschalten.

     

     

    Über Kevin Benckendorf

    Kevin Benckendorf ist in Deutschland aufgewachsen, aber in der Welt Zuhause. Seine Passion ist die neuste Technik. Egal ob Hardware oder Software. Er ist immer auf dem Laufenden und testet die besten Neuerscheinungen für dich.