The best VPN browser extensions in comparison

Comparing the best VPNs (Virtual Private Network) One quickly notices that many so-called VPN browser extensions offer. But what exactly are they and how do they work? We already know that a VPN guarantees your own privacy and anonymity on the Internet. But why do I need the VPN as an extension for my browser and which provider offers the best browser extension?

Content

    No time? - The best VPN browser extensions at a glance:

    nordvpn imageNordVPN 

    Convincing all along the line

     

    CyberGhost 

    The best free VPN browser extension

     

    ExpressVPN

    Browser plug-in and PC client work together

     

     

    VPN for the browser - is that enough?

    Everyone who surfs the Internet needs a so-called web browser, whether Opera, Chrome or Firefox. Unfortunately, these web browsers usually do not focus on protecting your privacy. However, if you already have a VPN client and it is always active, you are also protected when surfing the Internet.

    A VPN extension only protects your browser

    Internet securityInstalling a VPN extension only protects the browser, not other programs you use. Let's say you use Chrome and have a VPN extension installed there, then all of your activities that run directly through Chrome are protected. However, other applications such as Skype, Outlook or Discord are not protected. So if you want to protect your whole computer, check this out best VPN provider in comparison and installed the app on your PC.

    Free VPN extensions are often not trustworthy

    There are a lot of free VPN plug-ins out there, unfortunately most free VPN providers are not very trustworthy. Why? Because if the providers have no direct income, they still have to finance their servers, in the worst case they do this by selling your private data. For a detailed explanation of why premium VPN providers are the better choice, check out ours Comparison of the best free VPN providers

    Benefits of VPN extensions

    As you have already learned, your VPN extension does not protect your entire PC, a major disadvantage, but what are the advantages of VPN extensions? The biggest advantage is that it is very easy and quick to use it without installing an additional program on your computer.

    For example, if you only use a work PC for surfing, a VPN extension can be useful. So you can simply install the browser extension from one of the premium providers on a work PC and log in with your account details without having to download software to the PC. So if you have a If you really only want to use your PC to surf the Internet, then a VPN extension is perfect suitable for you.

    VPN browser extensions vs. Incognito mode

    incognito modeWhat many users do not know, a VPN browser extension is very different from the incognito mode that many browsers offer. However, all an incognito mode does for you is clearing your browsing history and cookies after use, this is ineffective and does not offer the same level of privacy as a VPN can.

    Why? Because while you are surfing the Internet, your information is not only forwarded by your browser, but also by your operating system, your router and possibly even saved on the websites you visit. Your IP address remains open and unobscured. 

     

    Instructions - how do I install a VPN browser extension

    BrowserWe explain briefly how to install a VPN extension for your browser. Generally it always consists of three steps.

    1. Look for the VPN extension for your browser
    2. Add the VPN extension to your browser
    3. Log in with your account details

    The whole thing should take under a minute. We have created detailed instructions for each browser on how to install a VPN.


    The best VPN browser extensions

    As mentioned, there are numerous free VPN extensions available, but many of them are not very trustworthy. We have therefore compared the best VPN providers with each other to see who offers the best browser extensions.

    1st place - NordVPN browser extension

    NordVPN offers by far the best browser extension and wins in our test. It's easy to install and offers complete freedom and security for your browser. What we liked best about the NordVPN browser extension is that it is significantly less power hungry than other providers' applications. Your computer will not slow down while the application is running in the background. The extension is also super easy to install and use. In Chrome, it didn't even take a minute for the extension to work. If you are logged into your NordVPN account, the browser extension will automatically connect to the best available server.

    Further advantages of the NordVPN browser extension.

    • Over 5800 VPN servers in over 59 countries
    • The best possible security standards
    • The possibility to bypass geo-blocking, e.g. for Netflix
    • Unlimited bandwidth
    • Very high speeds

    You need an active NordVPN account to use the browser application.

    NordVPN's customer service is excellent too, it is in English and German available and reachable via help center, email or live chat - around the clock, 7 days a week.

    Available for:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ✅
    Microsoft Edge ✅
    Opera

    Conclusion: Nord-VPN is convincing in full. The browser extension is easy to install, does not slow down your PC and protects it perfectly. 

    Prices: There are 4 pricing models, you can choose for 1 month, 1 year, 2 years or 3 years. NordVPN offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. The following prices apply:

    • 1 month for € 10,63
    • 1 year for € 6,22 / month
    • 2 years for € 4,44 / month
    • 3 years for € 3,10 / month.

    2nd place: CyberGhost browser extension

    CyberGhost VPN logoThe CyberGhost Browser Extension is a complete, 100% free extension, which works within your browser. The security of the free CyberGhost browser extension does not differ from that of the paid client application. However, CyberGhost strongly limits the server selection of its browser extension compared to the client application. You only have access to servers in the Netherlands, Germany, Romania and the USA. Another disadvantage of CyberGhost's free extension is that it significantly reduces your internet speed compared to NordVPN.

    If you use the paid CyberGhost service, unfortunately the same country limitations still apply within the browser extension, but we noticed that the VPN was suddenly much faster.

    Streaming from Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime Video and more works flawlessly using the browser extension and data usage is also unlimited.

    Unfortunately, customer service is only available in English, but via ticketing system or live chat.

    Available for:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ✅
    Microsoft Edge ✅

    Opera ❌

    Conclusion: The best, free browser extension in our test. Compared to the paid NordVPN variant, however, it is far too slow.

    3rd place: ExpressVPN browser extension

    ExpressVPN also offers a VPN browser extension. However, we should clarify in advance that, unlike other VPN browser extensions, ExpressVPN is not just a browser plug-in, but can only be used in connection with the VPN client.

    That has advantages and disadvantages. The biggest disadvantage is that the browser extension cannot run independently as a plug-in; you have to install the client, which is tedious and exhausting for anyone who is only looking for a browser extension. The advantage? The browser extension from ExpressVPN not only serves as protection for your browser, but also as a Remote control and extension of your VPN client. This means that all of your applications, whether Outlook, Skype or Discord, are protected. ExpressVPN is one of the best premium providers and you get this protection for the browser extension too. An overview of what we particularly like about ExpressVPN:

    • Over 3000 VPN servers in over 94 countries
    • State of the art encryption protocols
    • Supports Windows, MacOS, Android, iOS and even Linux
    • Unlimited bandwidth
    • Excellent speeds
    • One account protects up to 5 devices
    • Killswitch & Multihop function
    • Strict no-logs policy

    Customer support is provided 24/7, via live chat or email

    Available for:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ✅
    Microsoft Edge ✅

    Opera ❌

    Conclusion: ExpressVPN is a flawless VPN provider and so is the browser extension, but it bothers us a little that it is not offered as a stand-alone.

    Prices: ExpressVPN offers 3 pricing plans - prepayment for 1 month, 6 months or 1 year. ExpressVPN offers a 30-day money-back guarantee.

    • 1 month for € 12,95 / month
    • 6 months for € 9,99 / month
    • 1 year for € 8,32 / month

    Alternatives to our test winners

     

    OperaVPN

    Opera VPNOpera is the only browser that integrates a free and unlimited VPN service. The OperaVPN works in a similar way to the other VPN browser extensions we tested and therefore only protects you when surfing the Internet, so it is not suitable for complete protection like a traditional VPN client.

    Otherwise, the great advantage of OperaVPN, if you are already using Opera as a browser, is that installation and setup are completely eliminated, as it is already pre-installed. That makes the whole thing much more user-friendly. OperaVPN offers you the choice between Europe, North and South America and Asia, and unfortunately not choosing a specific country like the other premium VPN providers do. Not only are the servers severely restricted, the speed is also very slow.

    Available for:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ❌
    Microsoft Edge ❌

    Opera ✅

    Conclusion: If you use the Opera browser, you already have this browser extension, but we recommend alternatives such as NordVPN, CyberGhost or ExpressVPN 

    WindScribe

    windscribe logoWindscribe also offers a browser extension. First of all, we can already say that the free browser extension from Windscribe did not completely convince us, as the VPN is simply too slow compared to premium providers.

    Still, as a free provider, Windscribe is one of the best. In addition to a well-functioning, albeit unfortunately too slow, VPN, you get an integrated ad blocker for your browser. Other nice features are "Time Wrap" and "Location Wrap" with which you can take over the GPS and time settings of your proxy connections. The Windscribe client application is also limited to 10GB of data per month limited.

    Available for:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ✅
    Microsoft Edge ❌
    Opera ✅

    Conclusion: Windscribe is an excellent free VPN browser extension, which is unfortunately way too slow.

    SurfShark

    In our test, we liked the SurfShark browser extension. sSe runs in the background without interfering with surfing behavior. she is user friendly and easy to install. Compared to the client application, the speeds are a little bit slower, but to an acceptable extent. Unfortunately the browser extension is limited to 14 countries.

    What else we like about SurfShark:

    • Very good security standards
    • Unlimited bandwidth
    • Good speeds
    • Unlimited number of connections

    You need an active SurfShark account to use the browser application. 

    Available for:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ✅
    Microsoft Edge ❌
    Opera ❌

    Conclusion: SurfShark is one of the best premium providers for VPNs and it also convinces in our test for browser extensions.

    Summary

    A VPN browser extension can be useful. The premium providers in particular do a very good job and provide sophisticated, simple and user-friendly applications. As always, caution should be exercised with free providers. Providers who do not need to log in are particularly risky, as this can be exploited by hackers. However, if your security is really important to you, you should use a VPN client and not just a browser extension. We recommend NordVPN, our test winner of the best VPN extensions, as well as the best VPN in our large VPN provider overview.

     

    Frequently asked questions about using VPN browser extensions

    Is a VPN browser extension enough?

    A browser extension offers a kind of Lite VPN. This has similar functions as a desktop client, but not to the same extent. If you really value your privacy, you should use a desktop client in conjunction with a browser extension.

    Is there a browser with a built-in VPN?

    Yes. However, among the four big browsers, Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge and Opera, only Opera has a built-in VPN.

    Are VPN browser extensions safe?

    Unfortunately, many VPN browser extensions are unsafe. Many free providers in particular finance their servers in a very questionable way. In the worst case, your private data will be resold if you use an untrustworthy browser extension.

    Which browser extensions are trustworthy?

    We make sure to only test VPN providers who are trustworthy. We generally recommend premium providers such as NordVPN, CyberGhost or ExpressVPN.

    Is incognito mode the same as a VPN?

    No. Incognito mode only deletes your browsing history and cookies, but does not protect your IP address like a VPN does.

    What is a VPN browser extension?

    A VPN browser extension is used to disguise your IP address when using a browser such as Chrome, Firefox, Opera or Edge and to protect your privacy.

    Is a VPN legal?

    Yes. VPN use is basically legal in most countries such as Germany. Only a handful of countries prohibit the use of a VPN. Including North Korea, China, Iraq and Iran.

     

    About Kevin Benckendorf

    Kevin Benckendorf grew up in Germany, but at home all over the world. His passion is the latest technology. Whether hardware or software. He is always up to date and tests the best new releases for you.

Die besten VPN Browser Erweiterungen im Vergleich

Vergleicht man die besten VPNs (Virtual Private Network) fällt einem schnell auf, das viele sogenannte VPN Browser Erweiterungen anbieten. Aber was genau ist das und wie funktionieren sie? Wir wissen ja bereits das ein VPN die eigene Privatsphäre und Anonymität im Internet gewährleistet. Aber weshalb brauche ich den VPN als Erweiterung für meinen Browser und welcher Anbieter bietet die beste Browser Erweiterung an?

Inhalt

    Keine Zeit? – Die besten VPN Browsererweiterungen in der Übersicht:

    nordvpn imageNordVPN 

    Überzeugt auf ganzer Linie

     

    CyberGhost 

    Die beste gratis VPN Browser Erweiterung

     

    ExpressVPN

    Browser Plug-in und PC-Client arbeiten zusammen

     

     

    VPN für den Browser – reicht das?

    Jeder der im Internet surft, braucht dafür einen sogenannten Webbrowser, egal ob Opera, Chrome oder Firefox. Leider fokussieren sich diese Webbrowser meist nicht auf das schützen deiner Privatsphäre. Wenn du allerdings bereits eine VPN Client besitzt und dieser immer aktiv ist, bist du auch beim Surfen im Internet geschützt.

    Eine VPN Erweiterung schützt nur dein Browser

    internet sicherheitEine VPN-Erweiterung zu installieren schützt nur den Browser, nicht aber andere Programme, die du benutzt. Sagen wir du benutzt Chrome und hast dort eine VPN-Erweiterung installiert, dann sind alle deine Aktiviäten die direkt über Chrome laufen geschützt. Andere Anwendungen wie zum Beispiel Skype, Outlook oder Discord sind allerdings nicht geschützt. Wenn du also deinen ganzen Computer schützen willst, schau dir die besten VPN-Anbieter im Vergleich an und installierte die App auf deinem PC.

    Gratis VPN-Erweiterungen sind oft nicht vertrauenswürdig

    Es gibt sehr viele gratis VPN Plug-ins, leider sind die meisten gratis VPN-Anbieter nicht sehr vertrauenswürdig. Warum? Weil wenn die Anbieter keine direkten Einnahmen haben, sie trotzdem ihre Server finanzieren müssen, im schlimmsten Fall tun sie dies über das Verkaufen deiner privaten Daten. Für eine ausführliche Erklärung warum Premium Anbieter bei VPNs die bessere Wahl sind schau dir unseren Vergleich der besten kostenlosen VPN-Anbieter an.

    Vorteile von VPN-Erweiterungen

    Wie du bereits erfahren hast schützt deine VPN-Erweiterung nicht dein ganzen PC, ein großer Nachteil, wo liegen aber die Vorteile von VPN-Erweiterungen? Der größte Vorteil ist, dass es sehr einfach und schnell ist diese zu nutzen, ohne dafür ein zusätzliches Programm auf deinem Computer zu installieren.

    Wenn du zum Beispiel einen Arbeits-PC nur zum Surfen nutzt, kann eine VPN-Erweiterung nützlich sein. So kannst du die Browser Erweiterung eines der premium Anbieter einfach auf einem Arbeits-PC installieren und dich mit deinen Account Details einloggen, ohne dafür Software auf den PC runterladen zu müssen. Wenn du also einen PC wirklich nur zum Surfen im Internet nutzen willst, dann ist eine VPN Erweiterung perfekt für dich geeignet.

    VPN Browser Erweiterungen vs. Inkognitomodus

    inkognito modusWas viele Nutzer nicht wissen, eine VPN Browser Erweiterung unterscheidet sich stark von dem Inkognitomodus, welchen viele Browser anbieten. Alles, was ein Inkognitomodus allerdings für dich tut, ist deinen Browserverlauf sowie deine Cookies nach Verwendung zu löschen, dies ist ineffektiv und bietet nicht die gleiche Privatsphäre wie es ein VPN kann.

    Warum? Weil, während dem du im Internet surfst deine Informationen nicht nur durch dein Browser weitergeleitet werden, sondern auch durch dein Betriebssystem, dein Router und ggf. sogar auf den von dir besuchten Webseiten abgespeichert. Deine IP-Addresse bleibt also offen und unverschleiert. 

     

    Anleitung – wie installiere ich eine VPN Browser Erweiterung

    BrowserWir erklären dir kurz und knapp wie du eine VPN – Erweiterung für deinen Browser installierst. Generell besteht es immer aus drei Schritten.

    1. Such nach der VPN Erweiterung für deinen jeweiligen Browser
    2. Füge die VPN Erweiterung deinem Browser hinzu
    3. Logg dich mit deinen Account Details ein

    Das Ganze sollte unter einer Minute dauern. Wir haben eine genaue Anleitung für jeden Browser erstellt, wie du ein VPN installierst.


    Die besten VPN Browser Erweiterungen

    Wie bereits erwähnt gibt es zahlreiche gratis VPN – Erweiterungen, von denen viele allerdings nicht sehr vertrauenswürdig sind. Wir haben deshalb die besten VPN – Anbieter miteinander verglichen, um zu überprüfen, wer die beste Browser Erweiterung anbietet.

    Platz 1 – NordVPN Browser Erweiterung

    NordVPN bietet die mit Abstand beste Browser Erweiterung an und gewinnt in unserem Test. Sie ist einfach zu installieren und bietet vollkommene Freiheit und Sicherheit für deinen Browser. Was uns am besten an der NordVPN Browser Erweiterung gefallen hat, ist das sie deutlich weniger Leistungshungrig ist, als die Anwendungen der anderen Anbieter. Dein Computer wird nicht verlangsamt während die Anwendung im Hintergrund läuft. Auch ist die Erweiterung supereinfach zu installieren und zu bedienen. In Chrome hat es nicht mal eine Minute gedauert, bis die Erweiterung funktionsbereit war. Wenn du in deinem NordVPN Konto eingeloggt bist, verbindet sich die Browser Erweiterung automatisch mit dem besten verfügbaren Server.

    Weitere Vorteile der NordVPN Browser Erweiterung.

    • Über 5800 VPN Server in über 59 Ländern
    • Die best möglichen Sicherheitsstandards
    • Die Möglichkeit Geoblockings zu umgehen, für z.B. Netflix
    • Unbegrenzte Bandbreite
    • Sehr hohe Geschwindigkeiten

    Du brauchst ein aktives NordVPN Konto um die Browser Anwendung zu nutzen.

    Der Kundendienst von NordVPN ist ebenfalls ausgezeichnet, er ist in Englisch und Deutsch verfügbar und per Help-Center, E-Mail oder Live-Chat erreichbar- rund um die Uhr, 7 Tage die Woche.

    Verfügbar für:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ✅
    Microsoft Edge ✅
    Opera

    Fazit: Nord-VPN überzeugt auf voller Länge. Die Browser Erweiterung ist einfach zu installieren, verlangsamt deinen PC nicht und schützt ihn einwandfrei. 

    Preise: Es gibt 4 Preismodelle, es kann für 1 Monat, 1 Jahr, 2 Jahre oder 3 Jahre gewählt werden. NordVPN bietet eine 30 Tage Geld-zurück-Garantie. Folgende Preise gelten:

    • 1 Monat für € 10,63
    • 1 Jahr für € 6,22/Monat
    • 2 Jahre für € 4,44/Monat
    • 3 Jahre für´€ 3,10/Monat.

    Platz 2: CyberGhost Browser Erweiterung

    CyberGhost VPN LogoDie CyberGhost Browser Erweiterung ist eine komplett, 100% kostenfreie Erweiterung, welche innerhalb deines Browsers funktioniert. Die Sicherheit der gratis CyberGhost Browser Erweiterung unterschiedet sich hierbei nicht von der kostenpflichtigen Client Anwendung. Jedoch schränkt CyberGhost die Serverauswahl seiner Browser Erweiterung stark gegenüber der Client Anwendung ein. So hast du lediglich Zugriff auf Server in den Niederlanden, Deutschland, Rumänien und den USA. Ein weiterer Nachteil der gratis Erweiterung von CyberGhost ist, das sie im Vergleich mit NordVPN deine Internet Geschwindigkeit deutlich reduziert.

    Falls du den kostenpflichtigen CyberGhost Service nutzt, gelten leider weiterhin dieselben Länder Limitierungen innerhalb der Browser Erweiterung, jedoch konnten wir feststellen das der VPN plötzlich deutlich schneller war.

    Streamen von Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime Video und mehr funktioniert einwandfrei mithilfe der Browser Erweiterung und auch die Datennutzung ist nicht begrenzt.

    Der Kundenservice ist leider nur in Englisch verfügbar, dafür per Ticketing-System oder Live-Chat.

    Verfügbar für:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ✅
    Microsoft Edge ✅

    Opera  ❌

    Fazit: Die beste, kostenlose Browser – Erweiterung in unserem Test. Im Vergleich zur kostenpflichtigen NordVPN Variante jedoch deutlich zu langsam.

    Platz 3: ExpressVPN Browser Erweiterung

    Auch ExpressVPN bietet eine VPN Browser Erweiterung an. Direkt vorab sollten wir allerdings aufklären, das ExpressVPN anders als andere VPN Browser Erweiterungen nicht nur ein Browser Plug-in ist, sondern nur im Zusammenhang mit dem VPN-Client genutzt werden kann.

    Das bringt Vor und Nachteile mit sich. Der größte Nachteil ist, dass die Browser Erweiterung nicht eigenständig als Plug-in laufen kann, ihr müsst zwingend den Client installieren, das ist mühsam und anstrengend für alle, die nur eine Browser Erweiterung suchen. Der Vorteil? Die Browser Erweiterung von ExpressVPN dient nicht nur als Schutz für euren Browser, sondern quasi als Fernbedienung und Erweiterung von eurem VPN-Client. Das bedeutet alle eure Anwendungen, egal ob Outlook, Skype oder Discord sind geschützt. ExpressVPN ist einer der besten Premium – Anbieter und diesen Schutz erhaltet ihr also auch für die Browser Erweiterung. Eine Übersicht was uns besonders an ExpressVPN gefällt:

    • Über 3000 VPN Server in über 94 Ländern
    • Hochmoderne Verschlüsselungsprotokolle
    • Unterstützt Windows, MacOS, Android, iOS und sogar Linux
    • Unbegrenzte Bandbreite
    • Ausgezeichnete Geschwindigkeiten
    • Ein Konto schützt bis zu 5 Geräte
    • Killswitch & Multihop Funktion
    • Strikte Keine-Logs Richtlinie

    Kundensupport wird 24/7 geboten, per Live-Chat oder E-Mail

    Verfügbar für:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ✅
    Microsoft Edge ✅

    Opera  ❌

    Fazit: ExpressVPN ist ein tadeloser VPN – Anbieter und so auch die Browser Erweiterung, trotzdem stört es uns ein wenig das sie nicht als Stand-alone angeboten wird.

    Preise: ExpressVPN bietet 3 Preismodelle – Vorauszahlung für 1 Monat, 6 Monate oder 1 Jahr. ExpressVPN bietet eine 30 Tage Geld-zurück-Garantie.

    • 1 Monat für € 12,95/Monat
    • 6 Monate um € 9,99/Monat
    • 1 Jahr um € 8,32/Monat

    Alternativen zu unseren Testsiegern

     

    OperaVPN

    Opera VPNOpera ist der einzige Browser, der einen kostenlosen und unbeschränkten VPN-Dienst integriert. Der OperaVPN funktioniert hierbei ähnlich wie die anderen von uns getesteten VPN Browser Erweiterungen und schützt euch daher nur beim Surfen im Internet, er eignet sich also nicht für einen kompletten Schutz wie ein traditioneller VPN Client.

    Ansonsten ist der große Vorteil des OperaVPN, sofern ihr Opera bereits als Browser nutzt, dass die Installation und die Einrichtung komplett entfällt, da er bereits vorinstalliert ist. Das macht das ganze deutlich Benutzerfreundlicher. OperaVPN bietet euch die Auswahl zwischen Europa, Nord- und Südamerika sowie Asien und damit leider nicht die Auswahl eines bestimmten Landes wie es die anderen Premium VPN-Anbieter tun. Nicht nur die Server sind stark eingeschränkt, auch die Geschwindigkeit ist sehr langsam.

    Verfügbar für:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ❌
    Microsoft Edge ❌

    Opera ✅

    Fazit: Wer den Opera Browser nutzt, besitzt diese Browser Erweiterung bereits, wir raten allerdings zu Alternativen wie NordVPN, CyberGhost oder ExpressVPN 

    Windscribe

    windscribe logoAuch Windscribe bietet eine Browser Erweiterung an. Vorweg können wir bereits sagen, dass die gratis Browser Erweiterung von Windscribe uns nicht komplett überzeugt hat, da der VPN einfach deutlich zu langsam, im Vergleich mit Premium – Anbietern ist.

    Trotzdem, als gratis Anbieter ist Windscribe einer der Besten. Zusätzlich zu einem gut funktionierenden, wenn auch leider zu langsamen, VPN erhaltet ihr einen integrierten Adblocker für euren Browser. Weitere nette Features sind “Time Wrap” und “Location Wrap” mit denen du die GPS und Zeiteinstellungen deiner Proxy-Verbindungen übernehmen kannst. Die Clientanwendung von Windscribe ist des Weiteren auf nur 10GByte Daten pro Monat beschränkt.

    Verfügbar für:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ✅
    Microsoft Edge ❌
    Opera ✅

    Fazit: Windscribe ist eine hervorragende gratis VPN Browser Erweiterung, welche leider deutlich zu langsam ist.

    SurfShark

    In unserem Test hat uns die SurfShark Browser Erweiterung gut gefallen. sSe läuft im Hintergrund, ohne das Surfverhalten stark zu stören. Sie ist benutzerfreundlich und leicht zu installieren. Im Vergleich zu der Client Anwendung sind die Geschwindigkeiten ein kleines bisschen langsamer, allerdings in einem akzeptablen Ausmaß. Leider ist die Browser Erweiterung auf 14 Länder beschränkt.

    Was uns ansonsten noch an SurfShark gefällt:

    • Sehr gute Sicherheitsstandards
    • Unbegrenzte Bandbreite
    • Gute Geschwindigkeiten
    • Unlimitierte Anzahl von Verbindungen

    Du brauchst ein aktives SurfShark Konto, um die Browser Anwendung zu nutzen. 

    Verfügbar für:

    Chrome ✅
    Firefox ✅
    Microsoft Edge ❌
    Opera ❌

    Fazit: SurfShark ist einer der besten Premium Anbieter für VPNs und auch in unserem Test für Browser Erweiterungen überzeugt er.

    Zusammenfassung

    Eine VPN Browser Erweiterung kann nützlich sein. Besonders die Premium-Anbieter leisten sehr gute Arbeit und stellen ausgereifte und einfache und benutzerfreundliche Anwendungen zur Verfügung. Bei gratis Anbietern sollte, wie immer, Vorsicht geboten sein. Besonders Anbieter, die kein Log-in benötigen sind sehr riskant, da dies von Hackern ausgenutzt werden kann. Wem seine Sicherheit allerdings wirklich wichtig ist, sollte ein VPN Client nutzen und nicht nur eine Browser Erweiterung. Wir raten zu NordVPN, unser Testsieger der besten VPN Erweiterungen, sowie der beste VPN in unserer großen VPN-Anbieter Übersicht.

     

    Häufige Fragen zur Nutzung von VPN Browser Erweiterungen

    Reicht eine VPN Browser-Erweiterung aus?

    Eine Browser-Erweiterung bietet eine Art Lite VPN. Dieser hat ähnliche Funktionen wie ein Desktop-Client, jedoch nicht in dem gleichen Umfang. Wer wirklich Wert auf seine Privatsphäre legt, sollte einen Desktop-Client in Verbindung mit einer Browser-Erweiterung nutzen.

    Gibt es einen Browser mit eingebauten VPN?

    Ja. Unter den großen vier Browsern: Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge und Opera, besitzt lediglich Opera einen eingebauten VPN.

    Sind VPN Browser Erweiterungen sicher?

    Leider sind viele VPN Browser Erweiterungen unsicher. Besonders viele gratis Anbieter finanzieren ihre Server auf sehr fragwürdige Art und Weise. Im schlimmsten Fall werden eure privaten Daten beim Nutzen einer nicht vertrauenswürdigen Browser Erweiterung weiterverkauft.

    Welcher Browser Erweiterungen sind vertrauenswürdig?

    Wir gehen sicher, nur VPN-Anbieter zu testen, welche auch vertrauenswürdig sind. Wir raten generell zu Premium-Anbietern wie NordVPN, CyberGhost oder ExpressVPN.

    Ist der Inkognitomodus das gleiche wie ein VPN?

    Nein. Der Inkognitomodus löscht lediglich dein Browserverlauf sowie Cookies, er schützt aber nicht deine IP-Adresse, wie es ein VPN tut.

    Was ist eine VPN Browser Erweiterung?

    Eine VPN Browser Erweiterung dient dazu deine IP-Adresse beim Benutzen eines Browsers wie Chrome, Firefox, Opera oder Edge zu verschleiern und deine Privatsphäre zu schützen.

    Ist ein VPN legal?

    Ja. VPN-Nutzung ist grundsätzlich in den meisten Ländern wie Deutschland legal. Lediglich eine Handvoll Länder verbietet die Nutzung eines VPN. Darunter Nordkorea, China, Irak und der Iran.

     

    Über Kevin Benckendorf

    Kevin Benckendorf ist in Deutschland aufgewachsen, aber in der Welt Zuhause. Seine Passion ist die neuste Technik. Egal ob Hardware oder Software. Er ist immer auf dem Laufenden und testet die besten Neuerscheinungen für dich.