The best Chrome VPN extensions in comparison

Discover them absolutely best VPN extensions for Chrome! We compare the best VPN (Virutal Private Network) Providers with each other and test their VPN Chrome extensions. A VPN protects your privacy and anonymity on the internet. In the following article we answer all questions about VPN Chrome Add-on: Is one plug-in for Chrome enough, do I need the PC client, which VPN provider is really the best, or is a free VPN enough?

Content

    No time? - The best Chrome VPN extensions

    nordvpn imageNordVPN

    The egg legend wool milk sow. Fast, secure and trustworthy.

     

    CyberGhost

    Solid and free browser VPN for Chrome

     

    ExpressVPN

    Browser plug-in and PC client work together

     

     

    Chrome VPN add-on or VPN application

    We have already put in a detailed report best browser extensions tested and compared to a full-fledged PC client. The same is true for Chrome. There is a big difference between installing VPN software on your PC and just using a browser extension.
    If you want complete security for your computer, including all applications, you need a VPN client. If you only want to protect yourself while surfing with Chrome and hide your IP address, a VPN extension is sufficient.

    Set up the VPN Chrome extension

    Don't worry, VPN extensions are very easy to install in Chrome within a few minutes. We'll also help you with one Step by step instructions. In fact, a browser add-on is a lot less complicated and easier to install than a full VPN client.

    Setting up a VPN Chrome extension - step by step guide

    Chrome makes it very easy to install browser add-ons. With just a few clicks and under a minute, you are ready to surf the Internet safely and anonymously! We'll explain the whole thing to you with the help of ours Test winner NordVPN.

    Find the VPN add-on

    look for vpn in chrome

    The first thing to do is to find the VPN extension in the Chrome browser that you want to download. Just go to the chrome web store and search for the VPN extension you want.

    Install the VPN extension

    As soon as you have found the NordVPN Proxy Extension for Chrome in the chrome web store, simply click “Add” and then confirm the installation by clicking “Add Extension” again.

    add vpn in chrome add vpn in chrome (2)

    Log into your VPN

    log in to nordvpn

    Next you have to click the little NordVPN icon in the top right corner of your browser and log in with your login details. Now all you have to do is click on “Quick Connect” and you're done. You are now safe and anonymous on the Internet. As you can see it is easy to add a VPN extension to Chrome.

     

     

    Which Chrome VPN Extension is the Best?

    As we've already revealed, wins NordVPN our comparison. You can find out why NordVPN wins our test and what alternatives there are in the following article. We pay particular attention to how well the respective VPN providers have optimized their Chrome extensions and how secure they are.

    1st place - NordVPN Chrome browser extension

    NordVPN is by far the best browser extension for Chrome. It is easy to install and significantly more performance-optimized than other providers' applications. It doesn't slow down your computer and includes some great features such as an integrated ad blocker and the option to permanently disable WebRTC, which can lead to IP leaks in Chrome. As soon as you log into your NordVPN account, the browser extension automatically connects to the best available server. Important: If you use the Chrome extension without the PC client, it really only protects your surfing with Chrome, but not other applications. Which is why the name "Nord VPN Proxy Extension" makes more sense than a VPN extension. Because it is more like a proxy than a full-fledged VPN. We therefore recommend all-round protection and installation of the PC client.

    Further advantages of the NordVPN browser extension.

    • Over 60 locations to choose from
    • The best security standards
    • Stream Netflix, Hulu, HBO, Amazon Prime and many more
    • Unlimited bandwidth
    • Very high speeds
    • Bypass geoblocking

    You need an active NordVPN account to use the browser application.

    Conclusion: The NordVPN Chrome browser extension is the deserved test winner, everything is really right here.

    Prices: There are 4 pricing models, you can choose for 1 month, 1 year, 2 years or 3 years. NordVPN offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. The following prices apply:

    • 1 month for € 10,63
    • 1 year for € 6,22 / month
    • 2 years for € 4,44 / month
    • 3 years for € 3,10 / month.

    2nd place: CyberGhost VPN Chrome browser extension

    CyberGhost VPN logoCyberGhost secures the deserved place 2 mainly because the Chrome extension 100% free of charge. 

    The CyberGhost application runs independently and can be used without an account and independently of the PC application. The security standards of the free CyberGhost browser extension do not differ from the paid PC version. What differs, however, is the server selection. CyberGhost PC-Client offers a huge selection of servers, but severely limits it for its browser extension. Only access to servers in the Netherlands, Germany, Romania and the USA is available.

    On the positive side, streaming Netflix, Hulu and Amazon Prime Video using the browser extension works fine.

    Customer service is only available in English, but via the ticketing system or live chat.

    Conclusion: CyberGhost delivers a solid, free browser extension, which unfortunately cannot keep up with the NordVPN Chrome Extension.

    3rd place: Express VPN Chrome browser extension

    The ExpressVPN Chrome browser extension is very different from the NordVPN or CyberGhost variant. It is not just a browser plug-in, it can can only be used in connection with the VPN client.

    That has advantages and disadvantages. The main disadvantage is obvious: The browser extension cannot be installed independently as a plug-in. You have to install the full PC client if you want to use the Express VPN Chrome Browser Add-on. This is tedious and exhausting for everyone who is only looking for a browser extension. But what are the advantages? The browser extension from ExpressVPN is not only a protection for your browser, i.e. a proxy, but it serves as a Remote control and extension of your VPN client. That means all of your applications, whether Outlook, Skype or Discord, are protected. ExpressVPN is one of the best premium providers and you get this protection for the browser extension too. An overview of what we particularly like about ExpressVPN:

    • Over 3000 VPN servers in over 94 countries
    • State of the art encryption protocols
    • Supports Windows, MacOS, Android, iOS and even Linux
    • Unlimited bandwidth
    • Excellent speeds
    • One account protects up to 5 devices
    • Killswitch & Multihop function
    • Strict no-logs policy

    Customer support is provided 24/7, via live chat or email

    Conclusion: ExpressVPN tries something new and innovative, we like that. Nevertheless, it bothers us a little that it is not offered as a stand-alone.

    Prices: ExpressVPN offers 3 pricing plans - prepayment for 1 month, 6 months or 1 year. ExpressVPN offers a 30-day money-back guarantee.

    • 1 month for € 12,95 / month
    • 6 months for € 9,99 / month
    • 1 year for € 8,32 / month

    Summary

    If you want to be secure and anonymous in Chrome, you should use a VPN browser extension. Premium providers such as NordVPN and ExpressVPN offer sophisticated and user-friendly applications. We advise against most free providers, only CyberGhost could convince us. Furthermore, you should not use a VPN add-on that does not require a log-in, as this can be exploited by hackers.

    Finally, we would like to emphasize once again: If your security is really important to you, you cannot avoid using a full-fledged VPN client. Our tip: NordVPN.

    Frequently asked questions about using VPN Chrome browser extensions

    Is a VPN Chrome extension enough?

    A browser extension for Chrome offers a kind of Lite VPN. This has similar functions as a desktop client, but not to the same extent.

    Are the VPN browser extensions for Chrome safe?

    Unfortunately, many VPN browser extensions are unsafe. Many free providers in particular finance their servers in a very questionable way. In the worst case, your private data will be resold if you use an untrustworthy browser extension.

    What are the best browser extensions for Chrome

    NordVPN, CyberGhost and ExpressVPN win our comparison of the best browser extensions for Chrome. Other trusted providers of VPNs are SufShark and IPvanish.

    Is a VPN legal?

    Yes. VPN use is basically legal in most countries such as Germany. Only a handful of countries prohibit the use of a VPN. Including North Korea, China, Iraq and Iran.

    Is incognito mode enough or do I need a VPN?

    No. Incognito mode in Chrome only clears your browsing history and cookies, it doesn't protect your IP address like a VPN does.

    Has Chrome integrated a VPN?

    The Chrome desktop version has unfortunately no integrated VPN.

    Can my VPN browser extensions be deactivated?

    Yes. It is very easy to turn the VPN browser extensions for Chrome on and off.

     

    About Kevin Benckendorf

    Kevin Benckendorf grew up in Germany, but at home all over the world. His passion is the latest technology. Whether hardware or software. He is always up to date and tests the best new releases for you.

Die besten VPN Erweiterungen für Chrome im Vergleich

Entdecke die absolut besten VPN Erweiterungen für Chrome! Wir vergleichen die besten VPN (Virutal Private Network) Anbieter miteinander, und testen ihre VPN Chrome Erweiterungen. Ein VPN schützt deine Privatsphäre und Anonymität im Internet. In dem folgenden Artikel beantworten wir alle Fragen rund um VPN Add-on für Chrome: Ist ein Plug-in für Chrome genug, brauche ich den PC-Client, welcher VPN-Anbieter ist wirklich der beste oder reicht vielleicht sogar ein gratis VPN?

Inhalt

    Keine Zeit? – Die besten VPN Erweiterungen für Chrome

    nordvpn imageNordVPN

    Die Eierlegende Wollmilchsau. Schnell, sicher und vertrauenswürdig.

     

    CyberGhost

    Solide und kostenfreie VPN Browser Erweiterung für Chrome

     

    ExpressVPN

    Browser Plug-in und PC-Client arbeiten zusammen

     

     

    Chrome VPN Add-on oder VPN Anwendung

    Wir haben bereits in einen ausführlichen Bericht die besten Browser Erweiterungen getestet und mit einem vollwertigen PC-Client verglichen. Für Chrome gilt genau das Gleiche. Es ist ein großer Unterschied eine VPN Software auf dem PC zu installieren oder nur eine Browser Erweiterung zu nutzen.
    Möchtest du vollständige Sicherheit für deinen Computer, inklusive aller Anwendungen, brauchst du einen VPN-Client. Möchtest du dich dagegen nur beim Surfen mit Chrome schützen und deine IP-Adresse verschleiern, reicht eine VPN-Erweiterung.

    VPN Erweiterung für Chrome einrichten

    Keine Sorge, VPN Erweiterungen lassen sich sehr einfach und innerhalb von wenigen Minuten in Chrome installieren. Außerdem helfen wir dir mit einer Schritt für Schritt Anleitung. Tatsächlich ist ein Browser Add-on deutlich unkomplizierter und einfacher zu installieren, als ein vollständiger VPN-Client.

    VPN Erweiterung für Chrome einrichten – Schritt für Schritt Guide

    Chrome macht es sehr einfach, Browser Add-ons zu installieren. Mit wenigen Klicks und in unter einer Minute bist du bereit, sicher und anonym im Internet zu surfen! Wir erklären dir das Ganze mithilfe von unseren Testsieger NordVPN.

    Suche das VPN Add-on

    vpn in chrome suchen

    Als Erstes musst du die VPN Erweiterung im Chrome-Browser finden, die du runterladen möchtest. Gehe dafür einfach zum chrome web store und suche nach der, von dir gewünschten VPN Erweiterung.

    Installiere die VPN Erweiterung

    Sobald du im chrome web store die NordVPN Proxy Extension für Chrome gefunden hast, klicke einfach “Hinzufügen” und bestätigt danach die Installation, indem du noch einmal “Erweiterung Hinzufügen” klickst.

    vpn in chrome hinzufügen vpn in chrome hinzufügen (2)

    Logg dich in deinen VPN ein

    nordvpn einloggen

    Als Nächstes musst du das kleine NordVPN Symbol oben rechts in der Ecke deines Browsers klicken und dich mit deinen Anmeldedaten einloggen. Jetzt musst du nur noch auf “Quick Connect” klicken, und du bist bereits fertig. Du bist nun sicher und anonym im Internet. Wie du siehst, ist es kinderleicht eine VPN-Erweiterung zu Chrome hinzuzufügen.

     

     

    Welche Chrome VPN Erweiterung ist die Beste?

    Wie wir schon verraten haben, gewinnt NordVPN unseren Vergleich. Warum NordVPN unseren Test gewinnt und welche Alternativen es gibt, erfährst du im folgenden Artikel. Dabei beachten wir besonders, wie gut die jeweiligen VPN-Anbieter ihre Chrome-Erweiterungen optimiert haben und wie sicher diese sind.

    Platz 1 – NordVPN Chrome Browser Erweiterung

    NordVPN ist die mit Abstand beste Browser Erweiterung für Chrome. Sie ist einfach zu installieren und deutlich leistungsoptimierter als die Anwendungen anderer Anbieter. Sie verlangsamt deinen Computer nicht und beinhaltet einige tollen Features wie einem integrierten Adblocker und der Option WebRTC dauerhaft zu deaktivieren, was bei Chrome zu IP leaks führen kann. Sobald du in deinem NordVPN Konto einloggst, verbindet sich die Browser Erweiterung automatisch mit dem besten verfügbaren Server. Wichtig: Nutzt du die Chrome-Erweiterung ohne den PC-Client schützt diese wirklich nur dein Surfen mit Chrome, nicht aber andere Anwendungen. Weshalb der Name “Nord VPN Proxy Extension” auch mehr Sinn macht, als VPN-Erweiterung. Da sie einem Proxy ähnlicher ist, als einem vollwertigen VPN. Deshalb raten wir zu einem rundum Schutz und der Installation des PC – Client.

    Weitere Vorteile der NordVPN Browser Erweiterung.

    • Über 60 Standorte zur Auswahl
    • Die besten Sicherheitsstandards
    • Streamen von Netflix, Hulu, HBO, Amazon Prime und vielen mehr
    • Unbegrenzte Bandbreite
    • Sehr hohe Geschwindigkeiten
    • Umgehen von Geoblocking

    Du brauchst ein aktives NordVPN Konto, um die Browser Anwendung zu nutzen.

    Fazit: Die NordVPN Browser Erweiterung für Chrome ist der verdiente Testsieger, hier stimmt wirklich alles.

    Preise: Es gibt 4 Preismodelle, es kann für 1 Monat, 1 Jahr, 2 Jahre oder 3 Jahre gewählt werden. NordVPN bietet eine 30 Tage Geld-zurück-Garantie. Folgende Preise gelten:

    • 1 Monat für € 10,63
    • 1 Jahr für € 6,22/Monat
    • 2 Jahre für € 4,44/Monat
    • 3 Jahre für´€ 3,10/Monat.

    Platz 2: CyberGhost Chrome Browser Erweiterung

    CyberGhost VPN LogoDen verdienten Platz 2 Sichert sich CyberGhost vor allem weil die Chrome-Erweiterung 100% kostenfrei ist. 

    Die CyberGhost Anwendung läuft dabei eigenständig und kann ohne Konto und unabhängig von der PC Anwendung genutzt werden. Die Sicherheitsstandards der gratis CyberGhost Browser Erweiterung unterscheiden sich hierbei nicht von der kostenpflichtigen PC Version. Was sich allerdings unterscheidet ist die Serverauswahl. CyberGhost PC-Client bietet eine riesige Serverauswahl an, schränkt diese aber für seine Browser Erweiterung stark ein. Lediglich Zugriff auf Server in den Niederlanden, Deutschland, Rumänien und den USA stehen zur Verfügung.

    Positiv ist, dass Streamen von Netflix, Hulu und Amazon Prime Video mithilfe der Browser Erweiterung einwandfrei funktioniert.

    Der Kundenservice ist nur in Englisch verfügbar, dafür per Ticketing-System oder Live-Chat.

    Fazit: CyberGhost liefert eine solide, kostenlose Browser – Erweiterung, welche allerdings leider nicht mit NordVPN mithalten kann.

    Platz 3: ExpressVPN Browser Erweiterung

    Die ExpressVPN Browser Erweiterung unterscheidet sich stark von der NordVPN oder CyberGhost Variante. Sie ist nicht nur ein Browser Plug-in, sondern kann nur im Zusammenhang mit dem VPN-Client genutzt werden.

    Das bringt Vor- und Nachteile mit sich. Der größte Nachteil ist offensichtlich: Die Browser Erweiterung kann nicht eigenständig als Plug-in installiert werden. Du musst den vollständigen PC-Client installieren, wenn du das Chrome Express VPN Browser Add-on nutzen möchtest. Das ist mühsam und anstrengend für alle, die nur eine Browser Erweiterung suchen. Wo aber liegen die Vorteile? Die Browser Erweiterung von ExpressVPN ist nicht nur ein Schutz für euren Browser, also ein Proxy, sondern sie dient quasi als Fernbedienung und Erweiterung von eurem VPN-Client. Das bedeutet alle eure Anwendungen, egal ob Outlook, Skype oder Discord sind geschützt. ExpressVPN ist einer der besten Premium - Anbieter und diesen Schutz erhaltest du also auch für die Browser Erweiterung. Eine Übersicht was uns besonders an ExpressVPN gefällt:

    • Über 3000 VPN Server in über 94 Ländern
    • Hochmoderne Verschlüsselungsprotokolle
    • Unterstützt Windows, MacOS, Android, iOS und sogar Linux
    • Unbegrenzte Bandbreite
    • Ausgezeichnete Geschwindigkeiten
    • Ein Konto schützt bis zu 5 Geräte
    • Killswitch & Multihop Funktion
    • Strikte Keine-Logs Richtlinie

    Kundensupport wird 24/7 geboten, per Live-Chat oder E-Mail

    Fazit: ExpressVPN versucht etwas Eeues und Innovatives, das gefällt uns. Trotzdem stört es uns ein wenig, dass sie nicht als Stand-alone angeboten wird.

    Preise: ExpressVPN bietet 3 Preismodelle – Vorauszahlung für 1 Monat, 6 Monate oder 1 Jahr. ExpressVPN bietet eine 30 Tage Geld-zurück-Garantie.

    • 1 Monat für € 12,95/Monat
    • 6 Monate um € 9,99/Monat
    • 1 Jahr um € 8,32/Monat

    Zusammenfassung

    Wer in Chrome sicher und anonym sein möchte, sollte eine VPN Browser Erweiterung nutzen. Premium-Anbieter wie NordVPN und ExpressVPN bieten ausgereifte und benutzerfreundliche Anwendungen an. Wir raten von den meisten gratis Anbietern ab, lediglich CyberGhost konnte uns überzeugen. Des Weiteren solltest du keine VPN Add-on nutzen, das kein Log-in benötigt, da dies von Hackern ausgenutzt werden kann.

    Abschließend möchten wir noch einmal betonen: Wem seine Sicherheit wirklich wichtig ist, kommt nicht um die Benutzung eines vollwertigen VPN Client herum. Unser Tipp: NordVPN.

    Häufige Fragen zur Nutzung von VPN Browser Erweiterungen

    Reicht eine Chrome VPN Browser-Erweiterung aus?

    Eine Browser-Erweiterung für Chrome bietet eine Art Lite VPN. Dieser hat ähnliche Funktionen wie ein Desktop-Client, jedoch nicht in dem gleichen Umfang.

    Sind die VPN Browser Erweiterungen für Chrome sicher?

    Viele VPN Browser Erweiterungen sind leider unsicher. Besonders viele gratis Anbieter finanzieren ihre Server auf sehr fragwürdige Art und Weise. Im schlimmsten Fall werden eure privaten Daten beim Nutzen einer nicht vertrauenswürdigen Browser Erweiterung weiterverkauft.

    Was sind die besten Browser Erweiterungen für Chrome

    NordVPN, CyberGhost und ExpressVPN gewinnen unseren Vergleich der besten Browser Erweiterungen für Chrome. Weitere vertrauenswürdige Anbieter von VPNs sind SufShark und IPvanish.

    Ist ein VPN legal?

    Ja. VPN-Nutzung ist grundsätzlich in den meisten Ländern wie Deutschland legal. Lediglich eine Handvoll Länder verbietet die Nutzung eines VPN. Darunter Nordkorea, China, Irak und der Iran.

    Reicht der Inkognitomodus aus oder benötige ich ein VPN?

    Nein. Der Inkognitomodus in Chrome löscht lediglich dein Browserverlauf sowie Cookies, er schützt aber nicht deine IP-Adresse, wie es ein VPN tut.

    Hat Chrome einen VPN integriert?

    Die Chrome Desktop Version hat leider kein VPN integriert.

    Kann mein eine VPN Browser Erweiterungen deaktivieren?

    Ja. Es ist sehr einfach die VPN Browser Erweiterungen für Chrome an und auszuschalten.

     

    Über Kevin Benckendorf

    Kevin Benckendorf ist in Deutschland aufgewachsen, aber in der Welt Zuhause. Seine Passion ist die neuste Technik. Egal ob Hardware oder Software. Er ist immer auf dem Laufenden und testet die besten Neuerscheinungen für dich.