AVG Antivirus 2021 put to the test: a detailed experience report

AVG logoIf your looking for one Anti-virus softwarefor your computer or smartphone, then you've probably heard of AVG Antivirus. This antivirus is not only available as a paid antivirus, but also in a free version. AVG Antivirus has been part of the am, especially in recent years most downloaded antivirus programsthat are currently on the market. Especially in the free version, the provider promises very good protection in the best quality.

But what exactly is AVG Antivirus? What is the difference between the free and paid variant? How good is the virus protection? The most important question we'll be discussing in this article is how does AVG compare to other providers like TotalAV? Let's find out together.

 

Content

    No time? This is the better alternative to AVG

    No time?The best virus scanner - try it risk-free for 30 days!Provider Website
    TotalAV logo
    • Protection against malware:Adware, spyware & Co. don't stand a chance
    • Real-time protection: 24/7 protection for your device
    • Device maintenance: Delete files, increase your RAM and get more storage space
    • Absolute security: Surf anonymously and safely thanks to your own VPN

    What is AVG Antivirus?

    AVG Antivirus was launched back in 1990 and is mostly due to bee free variant became popular. However, this popularity has decreased enormously in recent years, which is due to the low level of protection, the annoying advertising and, above all, the poor basic functions. However, AVG Antivirus claims that their free anti-virus software has been improved and any security vulnerabilities have been fixed. Furthermore, AVG now also offers several functions. But what exactly is included in the free version?

    Free vs. Chargeable

    The free Variant, AVG Antivirus is very poor. The virus protection has allegedly been improved, but the following features have also been standard for other free antiviruses for years:

    • Real-time updates
    • Malware scans
    • Scans for performance issues
    • Protection against harmful downloads

    Furthermore, AVG wants to score points with its new design. But a design alone is by no means a statement of how good the virus protection actually is.

    AVG computer

    The Disadvantages of the free variant however, predominate by far:

    • No protection for Mac, Android and iOS
    • Limited functions which are visible in the user interface but cannot be clicked (and if you click on them, you get annoying advertisements)
    • No complete protection against viruses (e.g. ransomware or rootkits)
    • No protection against phishing Webseiten
    • No firewall and no settings for the home network
    • No extra features

    So if you choose AVG, then you should fall back on the paid version. But first take a deep breath - in our test we tested AVG Antivirus Internet Security and came to a sober result with this antivirus.

    AVG Internet Security 2020 - the ultimate test

    In our test, we put the paid virus protection AVG Internet Security 2020 to the test and with Total Security 2020 from TotalAV juxtaposed. In our test, however, we were able to clearly state that TotalAV is the clear winner in terms of virus protection, range of functions and prices. So if you are unsure about which antivirus you want for your devices, we'll have you covered TotalAV to the heart.

     

     

    Features of AVG Antivirus Internet Security 2020

    The primary features in the paid version of AVG Antivirus are:

    AVG Antivirus computer protectioncomputer protection

    The advanced virus protection scans for viruses, ransomware, spyware, rootkits, Trojans and other malware. This supposedly happens in real time. This should also stop phishing websites and dubious downloads. USB and DVD drives are also checked.

     

     

     

    AVG Antivirus Internet Protection

    Internet protection

    The web and e-mail protection promises that both phishing websites and fake e-mails no longer stand a chance. Even when downloading attachments, you no longer get infected with a virus. Thanks to online security, links and downloads are scanned in real time and WiFi hotspots are protected. Nevertheless you have to scan manually.

     

     

    AVG Antivirus protection against hackersProtection from hackers

    You can see the incoming and outgoing network traffic through the firewall. In addition, according to the AVG, you are well prepared for ransomware attacks. In this way, neither third parties nor hackers can get to your personal data. Unfortunately, that's not true: a simple firewall won't protect you from ransomware. Hackers also still have access to your IP address because you do not cover it up. This only works using a VPNs.

    Bei TotalAV a VPN is already pre-installed in Internet Security 2020.

     

    AVG Antivirus also offers the following Premium features to:

    • Webcam protection
    • Antispam protection
    • Mobile security (ONLY for Android devices)

    compatibility

    • PC: From Windows 7
    • Mac: Current version of macOS
    • Android: From Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean)
    • iPhone: iOS 10.3 or higher - but only VPN mobile!

    AVG Antivirus cost

    Like other antivirus programs, AVG offers different packages at different prices. As already mentioned, the absolutely necessary virus protection is free. However, this offers no additional functions at all. If you want to choose AVG, you should at least fall back on AVG Internet Security. The Prices look like this:

    AVG Antivirus prices

    Additional packages from AVG are available at the following prices:

    • AVG Ultimate: € 119,99 / year
    • AVG Tune Up: € 49,99
    • AVG Driver Update: from € 34,99 / year
    • AVG VPN: from € 4,99 / year
    • AVG Anti-Track: € 44,99 / year
    • AVG Secure Browser: Free

    As you can already see from the prices, these are very high scheduled. If you opt for total security and want to protect multiple devices and multiple operating systems, you have to fall back on the package with up to 10 devices. The normal package is only suitable for 1 PC that runs on Windows. 

    The big difference between AVG and TotalAV is that the device optimization, driver update, VPN and anti-track packages are only available separately. Unless you opt for the AVG Ultimate version, which costs a whopping 119,99 per year and is unfortunately not worth the price.

    For comparison: TotalAV is available from € 29. If you opt for the full package price, at TotalAV you only pay € 2020 for Total Internet Security 59 and have all the functions included that are only available at AVG. If you want to know more about TotalAV, you can do so in our detailed review. Other good alternatives are for example Avira, G-DATA or Panda AV.

    Performance

    During our test, we tested AVG Internet Security 2020 and unfortunately have to say: It can't do anything. The user interface looks pretty nice and is easy to install, but no phishing websites were detected, nor were infected downloads stopped.

    However, we have that as positive felt:

    • User Interface
      The program is quite easy to install and use. You don't have to search long for further configuration settings.
    • Free version
      The free version offers basic protection. However, you should not rely too much on the virus scanner. 

    We have that as negative felt:

    • virus protection
      The virus protection is as good as nonexistent. You are bombarded with annoying advertisements (even in the paid version) and you can still download dubious links and attachments.
    • Speed ​​during a scan
      The computer runs very slowly during a virus scan. Internet speed will also decrease.
    • Virus scanner speed
      The virus scanner's performance is definitely bad. During one Rapid tests took AVG around 22 minutes, with other antivirus programs being significantly faster. For one It took us almost 2 hours to complete a full scan of our computer - that is not acceptable.

    customer Support

    The AVG support is almost non-existent. In the free version, customer support is only available via a web form, but we never received an answer to our simple questions about configuration by email either.

    Conclusion - hands off!

    AVG Antivirus hands off

    AVG in the free variant is practically useless. With the annoying advertisements, the impaired functions and the generally poor performance, you can't expect much here. But the paid version is not much better either. Although this promises better protection against viruses and more functions overall, it unfortunately could not detect any simple adware in our test and did not prevent us from looking at phishing websites. With AVG Antivirus and Internet Security, we still received advertisements for AVG Tune Up and AVG Ultimate, whose prices are not only overpriced, but also whose functions in other antivirus programs, such as TotalAV, are already included.

    AVG antivirus review & experience 2020
    AVG is known to almost everyone, but it has clearly deteriorated in recent years. While other antivirus programs such as TotalAV have already included VPN, device optimization and other tools, you still have to pay extra with AVG. Furthermore, AVG does not offer any protection for iOS devices. The virus protection itself also performed very poorly in our test. We would definitely recommend another antivirus like TotalAV.
    Real-time protection
    5
    Virus Scanner
    4
    Protection against ransomware
    5
    Web protection
    5
    Privacy and security
    2
    Price-performance ratio
    2
    More tools
    6
    Benefits
    User friendly interface
    Free version
    Disadvantages
    Bad virus protection
    No web protection
    Overpriced packages
    Annoying advertising
    Bad price-performance ratio
    4.1

     

    About Jasmin Fuchs

    Jasmin Fuchs studied linguistics and trained in information technology and IT management.

AVG Antivirus 2020 im Test: Ein ausführlicher Erfahrungsbericht

AVG LogoWenn du auf der Suche nach einem Antivirus für deinen Computer oder dein Smartphone bist, dann hast du sicherlich schon von AVG Antivirus gehört. Diesen Antivirus gibt es nämlich nicht nur als kostenpflichtigen Antivirus, sondern auch in einer kostenlosen Variante. AVG Antivirus gehörte vor allem in den letzten Jahren zu dem am häufigsten heruntergeladenen Antivirenprogramme, die es zurzeit auf dem Markt gibt.  Gerade in der kostenlosen Variante verspricht der Anbieter von einem sehr guten Schutz in bester Qualität.

Doch was genau ist AVG Antivirus? Was ist der Unterschied zwischen der kostenlosen und der kostenpflichtigen Variante? Wie gut ist der Virenschutz? Die wichtigste Frage, die wir in diesem Artikel erläutern werden ist, wie hält sich AVG im Vergleich zu anderen Anbietern wie TotalAV? Lasst es uns gemeinsam herausfinden.

 

Inhalt

    Keine Zeit? Das ist die bessere Alternative zu AVG

    Keine Zeit?Der beste Virenscanner - 30 Tage lang risikofrei testen!Zum Anbieter
    TotalAV logo
    • Schutz vor Malware:Adware, Spyware & Co. haben keine Chance
    • Echtzeitschutz: 24/7 Schutz für dein Gerät
    • Gerätewartung: Lösche Dateien, erhöhe deinen Arbeitsspeicher und erhalte mehr Speicherplatz
    • Absolute Sicherheit: Surfe anonym und sicher dank eigenem VPN

    Was ist AVG Antivirus?

    AVG Antivirus wurde bereits im Jahr 1990 ins Leben gerufen und ist vor allem durch seine kostenlosen Variante populär geworden. Diese Popularität hat jedoch in den letzten Jahren enorm abgenommen, was an dem geringen Schutz, der lästigen Werbung und vor allem an den mangelhaften Grundfunktionen liegt. AVG Antivirus jedoch behauptet, dass deren kostenlosen Virenschutzsoftware verbessert wurde und gegebene Sicherheitslücken beseitigt wurden. Des Weiteren bietet AVG nun auch mehrere Funktionen an. Doch was genau ist in der kostenlosen Variante enthalten?

    Kostenlos vs. Kostenpflichtig

    In der kostenlosen Variante zeigt sich AVG Antivirus sehr mager. Zwar wurde der Virenschutz angeblich verbessert, aber folgende Features sind auch bei anderen, kostenlosen Antiviren seit Jahren Standard:

    • Echtzeit-Updates
    • Malwarescans
    • Scans für Performance-Probleme
    • Schutz für schädlichen Downloads

    Des Weiteren möchte AVG vor allem mit dessen neuen Design punkten. Doch ein Design alleine ist noch lange kein Statement dafür, wie gut der Virenschutz tatsächlich ist.

    AVG Computer

    Die Nachteile der kostenlosen Variante überwiegen jedoch bei Weitem:

    • Keinen Schutz für Mac, Android und iOS
    • Eingeschränkte Funktionen die zwar in der Benutzeroberfläche ersichtlich sind, aber nicht anklickbar sind (und wenn man sie anklickt, erhält man lästige Werbung)
    • Kein kompletter Schutz vor Viren (z.B. Ransomware oder Rootkits)
    • Kein Schutz vor Phishing Webseiten
    • Keine Firewall und keine Einstellungen für das Heimnetzwerk
    • Keine Extra Features

    Wenn man sich also für AVG entscheidet, dann sollte man auf die kostenpflichtige Variante zurückgreifen. Doch erst einmal tief durchatmen – in unserem Test haben wir nämlich AVG Antivirus Internet Security getestet und sind bei diesem Antivirus auf ein nüchternes Ergebnis gekommen.

    AVG Internet Security 2020 – der ultimative Test

    In unserem Test haben wir den kostenpflichtigen Virenschutz AVG Internet Security 2020 auf den Prüfstand gestellt und mit der Total Security 2020 von TotalAV gegenübergestellt. In unserem Test konnten wir jedoch klar festlegen, dass TotalAV hinsichtlich des Virenschutzes, des Funktionsumfanges und der Preise eindeutig der Sieger ist. Solltest du also unschlüssig darüber sein, welchen Antivirus du für deine Geräte haben möchtest, legen wir dir TotalAV ans Herz.

     

     

    Funktionen von AVG Antivirus Internet Security 2020

    In der kostenpflichtigen Version des AVG Antivirus gibt es folgende primäre Funktionen:

    AVG Antivirus ComputerschutzComputerschutz

    Der erweitere Virenschutz scannt nach Viren, Ransomware, Spyware, Rootkits, Trojaner und anderer Malware. Dies erfolgt angeblich in Echtzeit. Somit sollten auch Phishing Webseiten und dubiose Downloads gestoppt werden. Auch USB und DVD-Laufwerke werden überprüft.

     

     

     

    AVG Antivirus Internetschutz

    Internetschutz

    Der Web und E-Mail Schutz verspricht, dass sowohl Phishing Webseiten als auch gefälschte E-Mails keine Chance mehr haben. Auch beim Herunterladen von Anhängen kommt es nicht mehr dazu, dass man sich mit einem Virus infiziert. Dank Online-Sicherheit werden Links und Downloads in Echtzeit gescannt und WLAN Hotspots geschützt. Trotzdem muss man manuell scannen.

     

     

    AVG Antivirus Schutz vor HackerSchutz vor Hacker

    Durch die Firewall siehst du den ein- und ausgehenden Netzwerkvekehr. Darüber hinaus bist du laut AVG gegenüber Ransomware Angriffe gerüstet. So können weder Dritte noch Hacker an deine persönliche Daten gelangen. Leider stimmt das jedoch nicht: Eine einfache Firewall wird dich nicht vor Ransomware schützen. Auch Hacker haben nach wie vor Zugriff auf deine IP-Adresse, da du diese nicht verschleierst. Dies funktioniert nur mithilfe eines VPNs.

    Bei TotalAV ist in der Internet Security 2020 bereits ein VPN vorinstalliert.

     

    Des Weiteren bietet AVG Antivirus folgende Premiumfunktionen an:

    • Webcam-Schutz
    • Antispam Schutz
    • Mobile Sicherheit (NUR für Android Geräte)

    Kompatibilität

    • PC: Ab Windows 7
    • Mac: Aktuelle Version von macOS
    • Android: Ab Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean)
    • iPhone: iOS 10.3 oder höher – aber nur VPN mobile!

    Kosten von AVG Antivirus

    Wie andere Antivirenprogramme bietet AVG verschiedene Pakete zu verschiedenen Preisen an. Wie bereits erwähnt gibt es den absolut notwendigen Virenschutz umsonst. Dieser bietet jedoch überhaupt keine Zusatzfunktionen. Wenn man sich für AVG entscheiden möchtet, so sollte man zumindest auf die AVG Internet Security zurückgreifen. Die Preise sehen wie folgt aus:

    AVG Antivirus Preise

    Weitere Pakete von AVG sind zu folgenden Preisen erhätlich:

    • AVG Ultimate: € 119,99 / Jahr
    • AVG Tune Up: € 49,99
    • AVG Driver Update: ab € 34,99 / Jahr
    • AVG VPN: ab € 4,99 / Jahr
    • AVG Anti-Track: € 44,99 / Jahr
    • AVG Secure Browser: Kostenlos

    Wie man bereits an den Preisen sehen kann, sind diese sehr hoch angesetzt. Wenn man sich für die Total Security entscheidet, und mehrere Geräte und mehrere Betriebssysteme dabei schützen möchte, muss man auf das Paket mit bis zu 10 Geräten zurückgreifen. Das normale Paket ist nur für 1 PC geeignet, der auf Windows läuft. 

    Der große Unterschied von AVG zu TotalAV ist, dass bei den Paketen Geräteoptimierung, Driver Update, VPN und Anti-Track nur separat erhältlich ist. Außer man entscheidet sich für die AVG Ultimate Version, die satte 119,99 pro Jahr kostet und den Preis leider nicht wert ist.

    Zum Vergleich: TotalAV ist bereits ab € 29 erhältlich. Wenn man sich für den vollen Paketpreis entscheidet, so zahlt man bei TotalAV für die Total Internet Security 2020 nur € 59 und hat alle Funktionen inkludiert, die es bei AVG nur extra gibt. Wenn du mehr über TotalAV wissen möchtest, kannst du dies hier in unserem ausführlichen Test tun.

    Leistung

    Während unseres Tests haben wir AVG Internet Security 2020 getestet und müssen leider sagen: Das kann nix. Zwar sieht die Benutzeroberfläche recht hübsch aus und ist einfach zu installieren, aber weder wurden Phishing Webseiten erkannt, noch wurden infizierte Downloads gestoppt.

    Das haben wir jedoch als positiv empfunden:

    • Benutzeroberfläche
      Das Programm ist recht einfach zu installieren und zu bedienen. Bei weiteren Konfigurationseinstellungen muss man nicht lange suchen.
    • Kostenlose Version
      Die kostenlose Version bietet einen Grundschutz an. Hierbei sollte man sich jedoch nicht allzu sehr auf den Virenscanner verlassen. 

    Das haben wir als negativ empfunden:

    • Virenschutz
      Der Virenschutz ist so gut wie gar nicht vorhanden. Man wird mit lästiger Werbung bombardiert (selbst in der bezahlten Version) und kann dubiose Links und Anhänge nach wie vor downloaden.
    • Geschwindigkeit während eines Scans
      Während eines Virenscans läuft der Computer sehr langsam. Die Internetgeschwindigkeit verringert sich ebenso.
    • Geschwindigkeit des Virenscanners
      Die Leistungsfähigkeit des Virenscanners ist definitiv schlecht. Während eines Schnelltests benötigte AVG rund 22 Minuten, wobei andere Antivirenprogramme deutlich schneller waren. Für einen kompletten Scan unseres Computers benötigten wir fast 2 Stunden – das ist nicht tragbar.

    Kundensupport

    Der Support AVG ist so gut wie nicht vorhanden. Bei der kostenlosen Version ist der Kundensupport nur über ein Webformular erreichbar, aber auch per E-Mail haben wir nie eine Antwort auf unsere recht einfache Fragen zur Konfiguration erhalten.

    Fazit – Finger weg!

    AVG Antivirus Finger weg

    AVG in der kostenlosen Variante ist praktisch unbrauchbar. Mit den lästigen Werbeeinschaltungen, den beeinträchtigten Funktionen und der generellen schwachen Leistung kann man hierbei nicht viel erwarten. Aber auch die kostenpflichtige Variante ist nicht sehr viel besser. Zwar verspricht diese einen besseren Schutz vor Viren und insgesamt mehr Funktionen, konnte in unserem Test aber leider keine einfache Adware erkennen und hielt uns auch nicht davon ab, Phishing Webseiten zu betrachten. Mit AVG Antivirus beziehungsweise der Internet Security haben wir trotzdem Werbeeinschaltungen für AVG Tune Up und AVG Ultimate bekommen, dessen Preise nicht nur überteuert sind, sondern dessen Funktionen auch in anderen Antivirenprogramme, wie TotalAV, bereits inbegriffen sind.

    AVG Antivirus Testbericht & Erfahrung 2020
    AVG ist zwar beinahe jedem bekannt, hat sich aber in den letzten Jahren eindeutig verschlechtert. Während andere Antivirenprogramme wie TotalAV bereits VPN, Geräteoptimierung und andere Tools inkludiert haben, so muss man bei AVG noch draufzahlen. Des Weiteren bietet AVG keinen Schutz für iOS Geräte an. Auch der Virenschutz selbst hat in unserem Test sehr schlecht abgeschnitten. Wir würden definitiv einen anderen Antivirus, wie TotalAV, empfehlen.
    Echtzeitschutz
    5
    Virenscanner
    4
    Schutz vor Ransomware
    5
    Webschutz
    5
    Privatsphäre und Sicherheit
    2
    Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    2
    Weitere Tools
    6
    Vorteile
    Benutzerfreundliche Oberfläche
    Kostenlose Version
    Nachteile
    Schlechter Virenschutz
    Kein Webschutz
    Überteuerte Pakete
    Lästige Werbung
    Schlechtes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis
    4.1

     

    Über Jasmin Fuchs

    Jasmin Fuchs ist studierte Sprachwissenschaftlerin mit einer Ausbildung in Informationstechnologie und IT-Management.