What is the difference between VPNs and incognito mode

VPNs and incognito mode are two of the most popular tools for online privacy protection. A VPN makes it difficult to track your browsing, while incognito mode gives you a browser that won't remember your history. But what exactly is the difference between VPNs and incognito mode?

What is Incognito Mode?

In order to understand what the difference between VPNs and incognito mode is, we first have to understand what the incognito mode and of course a VPN do in the first place. So let's start with incognito mode. Private browsing has many names, including InPrivate in Microsoft Edge and Incognito Mode in Google Chrome. Its purpose is to give your browser a temporary amnesia to give. When you are in incognito mode, your browser does not save the data of the websites you have visited. That means: No addresses, no cookies, none of the data you have entered - nothing.

Also, the incognito mode gives you a new browser status without cookies. So if you're signed into Facebook in your normal browser window, you can open a window in incognito mode and Facebook won't see you as signed in.

When you surf in incognito mode, nothing you do in your browser is saved by your browser itself. Web pages you have visited do not appear in your history or on the Recently Visited tab. When you log into a website all you have to do is close the window and your browser will forget that you ever logged in. However, that's already all private browsing can do.

So while none of your browser data is stored on your computer, this does not mean that they will be deleted on the other end. Your IP address is still displayed on websites that you visit, your Internet service provider can still see your activities and system administrators at your workplace also know which websites you have visited (instead of working). Incognito and other modes for private surfing can be done online not anonymous.

What is a VPN?

This is where VPNs come in. When you connect to a VPN, it connects to the Internet through a private server, so it will appear to others that that server is accessing the website, and not you. In other words, websites that you access do not show your actual IP address. Instead, the websites see the IP address of the VPN.

Ten improves your general privacy while surfing and offers the added bonus that you can "fake" your location to any country in the world. If your VPN has servers in this country. In other words, web pages indicate that you are surfing from the region of the VPN server and not from your own physical location. In this way, you can, for example, bypass geographic restrictions for Netflix or use online banking while on vacation. It's also a great way to bypass online censorship and prosecution in repressive countries.

All of this makes VPNs popular with a wide variety of users, including ordinary people who just like their privacy. But also with human rights activists who live under repressive regimes or with people who use BitTorrent to download the latest movies.

The gaps in VPN security

A VPN forwards you over an encrypted connection known as a safe tunnel referred to as. Your ISP or a network administrator can determine that you are connecting to an external server - the VPN - but not the websites to which you are also connected.

However, using a VPN is guaranteed not complete anonymity. While your connection is stealthy, you can still be tracked if you stay signed in to your social media or Google accounts. Mit anderen Worten: If you are signed in to Google, then connect to a VPN, but continue to use your normal browser in which you are signed in to Google, then of course Google still knows who you are. The browser cookies stored in your browser can be used to track you.

The biggest problem with VPNs:

The VPN service you use can see everything you do while it's active. In a way, you're swapping tracking from your ISP or boss for tracking from your VPN. However, as part of their package, most VPNs promise their Delete logs regularly. Logs are the history of connections made by a user. This is commonly referred to as "No-logs policy designated. On paper, this means that the VPN has no record of you or your activities. This means that your VPN cannot share this information with your ISP, advertisers, law enforcement, or anyone else either.

In practice, however, not all VPNs are created equal in this regard. For example has PureVPN Helped the FBI catch a cyberstalker in 2017. This was possible because the VPN provider did not log any user activity, but did log the IP addresses of the users. In general, we recommend that users of VPNs read the privacy policy and do a little double-checking of the service before signing up. You trust a VPN with a lot of trustworthy data. So do your research first.

Using a VPN with incognito mode

While VPNs and Incognito Mode may serve different roles, they actually work very well together. Many of the loopholes in VPN security can be closed in incognito mode, while the flaws in incognito mode are covered by VPNs. Using them together will make it harder for someone to track you, while also protecting your privacy from anyone you share your computer with. Hopefully with this short article we've been able to help you better understand the difference between VPNs and incognito mode, and why they're better used together than alone.

 

You might also be interested in:

About Kevin Benckendorf

Kevin Benckendorf grew up in Germany, but at home all over the world. His passion is the latest technology. Whether hardware or software. He is always up to date and tests the best new releases for you.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .